cleaning/replacing tr-606 tact switches

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
elsquirrel
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 4:07 am

cleaning/replacing tr-606 tact switches

Post by elsquirrel » Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:00 am

I acquired a 606 recently and some of the buttons are a little flakey. The all eventually work if you hit them hard enough or in the right way. My question is this: Given it's probably 4 or 5 buttons, would it be easier to just replace them? I remember reading somewhere that comparable tact switch are still made. And if so, what would the difficulty rating be? My experience so far is changing batteries and juno 106 chips and that's about it.

Any advice on tips appreciated, thanks!

User avatar
Hybrid88
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2251
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 8:26 am
Gear: V-Synth, and other stuff...
Location: Australia

Re: cleaning/replacing tr-606 tact switches

Post by Hybrid88 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:15 am

It's a pain cause the circuit board of these old machines is made of cellulose (basically glue and cardboard) meaning it's really easy to lift the copper traces/pads, which is very bad news. Heat control and solder time are the key to avoiding this, but that comes with practice and skill. I would get a pro to do it personally, use the ALPS tactile switches as alternatives as they're top quality replacements.

I'd also recommend you get them all done at the same time. ;)

elsquirrel
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 4:07 am

Re: cleaning/replacing tr-606 tact switches

Post by elsquirrel » Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:37 am

Thanks for in the info. Might hold out a bit longer and just get it done by qualified hands then. Sounds like it could go wrong quickly.

Would you say it's pointless trying to clean the more troublesome switches in the mean time? (limited funds atm)

User avatar
Hybrid88
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2251
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 8:26 am
Gear: V-Synth, and other stuff...
Location: Australia

Re: cleaning/replacing tr-606 tact switches

Post by Hybrid88 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:01 am

You can always try, but they're probably sealed in which case it will do nothing. :geek:

Explorer
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 275
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 7:00 pm
Gear: not enough space here
Location: earth

Re: cleaning/replacing tr-606 tact switches

Post by Explorer » Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:25 pm

http://www.vintageplanet.nl sells complete sets off switches for 13,05 euro.
Maybe there are sets available at evilbay,didn't check it.

It's very easy to replace them yourself if you know how to use a soldering iron.
Otherwise somebody with knowledge would be better if you doubt your own skills.

User avatar
Solderman
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1799
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 5:43 pm

Re: cleaning/replacing tr-606 tact switches

Post by Solderman » Sun Mar 17, 2013 6:15 pm

I did this for every switch in my TB303, and it really isn't all the tough for an unmodded TR606 if, as mentioned, you take care not to burn the traces while soldering. As they are sealed, replacement of the switches is unfortunately the only option here. I used SKHCAA alps switches, which work in the 606, 303 and SH-101 center buttons, and the difference is profound. Only problem is, they don't really last, same as the originals don't.
I am no longer in pursuit of vintage synths. The generally absurd inflation from demand versus practical use and maintenance costs is no longer viable. The internet has suffocated and vanquished yet another wonderful hobby. Too bad.
--Solderman no more.

User avatar
Altitude
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:25 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: cleaning/replacing tr-606 tact switches

Post by Altitude » Fri Mar 22, 2013 10:07 pm

These are the same tacts used on x0xb0xes, shruthis, etc. As common as they come:
http://www.digikey.com/product-search/e ... =EG1821-ND

I'll +1 about being extra cautious with deslodering them, the best way to do it is to cut the 4 legs, then gently desolder the pins one at a time

elsquirrel
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 4:07 am

Re: cleaning/replacing tr-606 tact switches

Post by elsquirrel » Thu Jul 04, 2013 8:09 am

Is $150 a reasonable amount to have all the switches changed (labor only I'm supplying new alps switches)?

User avatar
Cybercardinal
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 482
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:16 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: cleaning/replacing tr-606 tact switches

Post by Cybercardinal » Sat Jul 06, 2013 4:03 am


Post Reply