Difference between Frac rack and Euro

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
User avatar
Jabberwalky
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2164
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:03 pm
Gear: A hybrid of vintage and modern junk
Band: Variar
Location: Pgh, PA
Contact:

Difference between Frac rack and Euro

Post by Jabberwalky » Mon May 06, 2013 12:28 pm

Difference between Frac rack and Euro? From everything I've found they appear to be the same size (3u, 5.25in high).

User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3620
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Gear: more than 150 characters...
Location: zürich
Contact:

Re: Difference between Frac rack and Euro

Post by pflosi » Mon May 06, 2013 1:22 pm

Yeah it's the same rack height (3U). AFAIK, Frac is 15V peak to peak, while Euro is 12V. Frac modules also tend to be deeper (in dimensions, not functions).

If you intend to go modular, Euro is the place to be... Nowhere else do you find so much different modules.

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6127
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Logic Pro X

Re: Difference between Frac rack and Euro

Post by meatballfulton » Mon May 06, 2013 1:42 pm

Frac Rack is mainly Blacet, the format was invented by pAiA but their modules use different power connectors.

Frac modules are not physically interchangeable with Euro.

Definitely running a weak third place against Euro or dotcom/MOTM 5U.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
Jabberwalky
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2164
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:03 pm
Gear: A hybrid of vintage and modern junk
Band: Variar
Location: Pgh, PA
Contact:

Re: Difference between Frac rack and Euro

Post by Jabberwalky » Tue May 07, 2013 12:18 am

Awesome, thanks for the insight guys. Basically, I'm getting ready to build a Paia 9700 modular, but I know based on reviews that it lacks some multiples and attenuators. This is all in the future, but I'd like to be able to build upon the base Paia modular with other things, so I don't want to box myself into a corner. I appreciate the help!

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: Difference between Frac rack and Euro

Post by Stab Frenzy » Wed May 08, 2013 2:13 am

They will be compatible from the point of view of patching them together, but you would have to have a row of Frac and a row or Euro, they won't go together in the same enclosure. They're both V/Oct so you can freely patch CV from one to the other, the 9700 runs on +-15V to Euro's +-12V but the signal levels are basically the same.

A good cheap starter system would be a 9700 and a Happy Ending Kit both racked in a 6U rack, that way you'd have the basics from the 9700 covered and could add functionality with the Euro.

User avatar
Jabberwalky
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2164
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:03 pm
Gear: A hybrid of vintage and modern junk
Band: Variar
Location: Pgh, PA
Contact:

Re: Difference between Frac rack and Euro

Post by Jabberwalky » Fri May 10, 2013 11:37 am

Cool, thanks Stabs. I'll look into that!

User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 4230
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Creamware Minimax
Yamaha DX7s
Analogue Systems modular
Ensoniq SQ-80
Waldorf Blofeld
Location: Drammen, Norway

Re: Difference between Frac rack and Euro

Post by Bitexion » Fri May 10, 2013 1:11 pm

Can't you get around multiples by using stackable patch cables? I dunno if stackable minijack cables exist, though.

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: Difference between Frac rack and Euro

Post by Stab Frenzy » Sat May 11, 2013 2:31 am

Bitexion wrote:Can't you get around multiples by using stackable patch cables? I dunno if stackable minijack cables exist, though.
What stackcables do you know exist then?

User avatar
Jabberwalky
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2164
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:03 pm
Gear: A hybrid of vintage and modern junk
Band: Variar
Location: Pgh, PA
Contact:

Re: Difference between Frac rack and Euro

Post by Jabberwalky » Sat May 11, 2013 5:11 am


User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: Difference between Frac rack and Euro

Post by Stab Frenzy » Sat May 11, 2013 6:18 am

Yep, they're minijack so will work with both Frac and Euro.

User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3620
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Gear: more than 150 characters...
Location: zürich
Contact:

Re: Difference between Frac rack and Euro

Post by pflosi » Sat May 11, 2013 12:56 pm

Just don't use them to mix stuff together... Only multing.

User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 4230
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Creamware Minimax
Yamaha DX7s
Analogue Systems modular
Ensoniq SQ-80
Waldorf Blofeld
Location: Drammen, Norway

Re: Difference between Frac rack and Euro

Post by Bitexion » Sat May 11, 2013 4:44 pm

I just patched up 3 VCO's on my modular to mix them in the multiple, seems fine. They track pitch accurately still, they just sound like 3 vcos mixed together at 100% volume.

Why wouldn't using 3 stackable cables work the same way as a multiple? The multiple I have is a powerless module, I think they're just 4 inputs soldered together?
Or there could be some stabilizing circuitry between the sockets.

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: Difference between Frac rack and Euro

Post by Stab Frenzy » Sun May 12, 2013 6:01 am

Bitexion wrote:I just patched up 3 VCO's on my modular to mix them in the multiple, seems fine. They track pitch accurately still, they just sound like 3 vcos mixed together at 100% volume.

Why wouldn't using 3 stackable cables work the same way as a multiple? The multiple I have is a powerless module, I think they're just 4 inputs soldered together?
Or there could be some stabilizing circuitry between the sockets.
When you use a mult to mix signals you're driving the output stages of each of the sources with each of the other ones. Apart from that it doesn't actually mix the signals cleanly it can destroy the output stage depending on how the stage is constructed. This is because output stages are typically low impedance and want a high impedance input to plug into. Plugging three low impedance output stages together drops the load each stage is seeing even further (Ohm's law when adding resistances in parallel) which means each stage will be having at least twice as much (probably more) current drawn than it was designed to, which is when things get hot and start popping.

I guess you're lucky that the VCOs you shorted together have idiot-proofed output stages, but it's not something you want to make a habit of doing. The rule is that inputs can be joined to inputs, inputs and outputs can be joined together but outputs and outputs can never be.

User avatar
Bitexion
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 4230
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Gear: Alesis Andromeda A6
Roland D-50
Creamware Minimax
Yamaha DX7s
Analogue Systems modular
Ensoniq SQ-80
Waldorf Blofeld
Location: Drammen, Norway

Re: Difference between Frac rack and Euro

Post by Bitexion » Sun May 12, 2013 1:54 pm

I didn't think of it as shorting the 3 VCO outputs. I guess Analogue Systems put in some failsafes to prevent blowing stuff from "careless" patching. It's one of those things you're bound to try. "Multiple=mix several signals together, so lets plug all oscillators in there an see how it sounds!"

User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3620
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Gear: more than 150 characters...
Location: zürich
Contact:

Re: Difference between Frac rack and Euro

Post by pflosi » Mon May 13, 2013 8:20 am

Bad idea. There are mixers for that ;)

Post Reply