AKAI AX 73 sampler input mod?

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
User avatar
Walter Ego
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 897
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 7:17 pm
Gear: Various noisemakers hidden around my home and classroom. And a great quantity of caffeine.
Band: 12"VS
Location: Near Boston

AKAI AX 73 sampler input mod?

Post by Walter Ego » Tue Jun 11, 2013 8:12 pm

I just snagged an AX-73. I like it a bunch so far. Like the AX 60, it has a 13-pin sampler input, for using as oscillator sources (i think) and for running through the filter and chorus. I have read that it is actually just an audio input, and you can solder together a cable to terminate in the 13-pin connector. All I have is this clue from a ways back on Matrixsynth, and I can't find much else.

http://www.matrixsynth.com/2007/12/ax73 ... hacks.html

This mod allows you to run any audio through the filter, etc.

Has anyone tried this or know of any success stories? Or where to find said 13-pin connector?



Thanks.
Walter Ego
seamonkey wrote:I nominate this for STUPIDEST THREAD ever in the history of the internez. ;)

gslug
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 4:41 am
Real name: Kevin
Gear: Jupiter 6, Juno 106, MKS-50, DX7, TX81Z, Emulator II (dead), DPX-1, EPS 16 Plus, x0xb0x, Shruthi, TR-707, 9090, MIDIbox MB6582, MIDIbox Seq V4

Re: AKAI AX 73 sampler input mod?

Post by gslug » Wed Jun 12, 2013 12:32 am

Here is the connector: http://www.digikey.co.uk/product-detail ... -ND/252010

The wiring is simple, except that DIN connectors, along with D-sub connectors are truly horrid things to solder.

User avatar
Walter Ego
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 897
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 7:17 pm
Gear: Various noisemakers hidden around my home and classroom. And a great quantity of caffeine.
Band: 12"VS
Location: Near Boston

Re: AKAI AX 73 sampler input mod?

Post by Walter Ego » Wed Jun 12, 2013 4:33 pm

gslug wrote:Here is the connector: http://www.digikey.co.uk/product-detail ... -ND/252010

The wiring is simple, except that DIN connectors, along with D-sub connectors are truly horrid things to solder.
Thanks for the link--have you tried it out yourself?
Walter Ego
seamonkey wrote:I nominate this for STUPIDEST THREAD ever in the history of the internez. ;)

gslug
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 4:41 am
Real name: Kevin
Gear: Jupiter 6, Juno 106, MKS-50, DX7, TX81Z, Emulator II (dead), DPX-1, EPS 16 Plus, x0xb0x, Shruthi, TR-707, 9090, MIDIbox MB6582, MIDIbox Seq V4

Re: AKAI AX 73 sampler input mod?

Post by gslug » Thu Jun 13, 2013 5:05 am

No, as I don't have an AX73, nut I have soldered up a few cables over the years and I absolutely hate DIN connectors! :twisted:

I never knew about the sampler input before you mentioned it, but it seems an interesting feature. I might have to add an AX73 to the wish list....

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5310
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Wurlitzer Opus 1536, Model F, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: AKAI AX 73 sampler input mod?

Post by madtheory » Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:28 am

It's fine if you have this:
Image

max badwan
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 1:34 am
Real name: Max
Gear: T1, XV 5080, ES1, Zaquencer
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: AKAI AX 73 sampler input mod?

Post by max badwan » Tue May 13, 2014 2:10 am

from memory, the sampler inputs are designed to piggy back from an Akai S612, essentially turning the AX into a dual oscillator synth (with one oscillator being the sampled voice) - you can mix/balance the inputs.
In practice, if you want to use the filters on something, you'll need a way to split the source into 6 outputs - either using busses on a mixer, or an audio splitter (I used a Yamaha PLS 1) to present the same source to all six inputs, as the filters assign by rotation - otherwise you'll only be filtering one voice in six.
It does work well, though.
Hope that makes sense, it's been a while.

Rohrbach
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2020 8:43 am

Re: AKAI AX 73 sampler input mod?

Post by Rohrbach » Sat Jun 06, 2020 8:50 am

Makes perfect sense
6 inputs for the 6 sets of filters, enveloppes etc...
So I guess turning the big mono mode will make sure the input you use is allways active.

I'm gonna try this easy mod very soon anyway

User avatar
gmeredith
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 710
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:06 am
Band: Warning Will Robinson
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: AKAI AX 73 sampler input mod?

Post by gmeredith » Wed Jun 17, 2020 11:59 am

My Akai S700 sampler also has that output socket to match the AX73 input socket, and mentions its use in the S700 manual.
Casio: FZ1, CZ101, PG380, VZ10M, SK8, SK60, RAP10, DP1 drums, DH100, CDP200, DM100
Yamaha: TX81z, TX802, SHS10, DTXv2
Roland: SH101, DR660, MS1, PM16, TR33
Others: Korg MicroKontrol, ES-1, Alesis MMT8, Emu ESi2000 & card reader, BCR2000, V-Machine

Post Reply