Page 1 of 1

Korg M1 memory loss

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 5:12 pm
by sam
Battery replaced but no memories......Can these be reloaded or is there a reset function.

Re: Korg M1 memory loss

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 5:37 pm
by rhino
Don't know about a reset, but here are a lot of SYSEX patch banks:

http://patcharena.com/synths/korg-m1/

EDIT:
Here is a reset method:
http://www.ehow.com/how_7350865_restore ... emory.html

Re: Korg M1 memory loss

Posted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 6:31 am
by sam
Thank you Rhino....It's a friends synth and he still uses the M1....Not heard one for years..

Re: Korg M1 memory loss

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 5:56 pm
by Bitexion
Just find some links for sysex patches and a description on how to install and send to him. He really just needs a program like MidiOx and some sysex files to get up and running again, it's not super complicated.

Re: Korg M1 memory loss

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 6:54 pm
by AK79
when sending SysEx to the M1 be sure to slow down the transmission speed from whatever app you use...

When too fast the Korg ignores it.

Re: Korg M1 memory loss

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 8:41 pm
by Bitexion
Yes, MidiOX lets you set both speed and delay between packets very easily..you can't break anything, if it's "wrong" the synth just won't understand it and do nothing.

You can probably find some help directly for Korg M1 sysex with some creative googling. The files are usually very small so it will be sent in a eyeblink anyway.