Arp Omni 2 tuning pot?

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
Europanaut
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 6:38 am

Arp Omni 2 tuning pot?

Post by Europanaut » Thu Oct 31, 2013 11:09 pm

The whole thing is a few cents sharp, enough to cause problems in the studio. There's no adjustment on the outside, so I assume that there's a trim pot on one of the boards. Has anyone here tracked down the appropriate master tuning pot? The overall calibration across the keyboard is fine, it's just the master tuning that's out.


Thanks!

User avatar
rhino
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:00 pm
Real name: bill
Gear: keepers:
Kurzweil K2500x
Ensoniq TS-12
Yamaha SY-99
Alesis QS-8
Roland JD-800
Roland JX-10
Akai AX-80
Ensoniq SQ-80
Korg DSS-1
Moog Mini
Fizmo
Location: kentucky hills

Re: Arp Omni 2 tuning pot?

Post by rhino » Fri Nov 01, 2013 12:10 am

It is a coil, not a pot. Located on the UPPER VOICING BOARD. Very likely in a small metal can. Use a non-ferrous screwdriver to adjust it.
When the wise man points to the stars, the fool looks at the finger.
- Confucius

Europanaut
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 6:38 am

Re: Arp Omni 2 tuning pot?

Post by Europanaut » Fri Nov 01, 2013 1:12 am

Thanks!

L1, 220, I assume. According to the service manual diagrams.

User avatar
rhino
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:00 pm
Real name: bill
Gear: keepers:
Kurzweil K2500x
Ensoniq TS-12
Yamaha SY-99
Alesis QS-8
Roland JD-800
Roland JX-10
Akai AX-80
Ensoniq SQ-80
Korg DSS-1
Moog Mini
Fizmo
Location: kentucky hills

Re: Arp Omni 2 tuning pot?

Post by rhino » Fri Nov 01, 2013 1:30 am

Yes.
and..welcome to the board!
When the wise man points to the stars, the fool looks at the finger.
- Confucius

Europanaut
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 6:38 am

Re: Arp Omni 2 tuning pot?

Post by Europanaut » Fri Nov 01, 2013 2:22 am

Thanks again rhino, and thanks for the welcome!

User avatar
V301H
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 762
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:58 am
Gear: Fender The Strat, Stratocaster, Jazz Bass Rickenbacker 360-12, 320 Messenger(Mark Farner)
Band: The Characters
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Arp Omni 2 tuning pot?

Post by V301H » Fri Nov 01, 2013 3:50 am

I had an Omni 2 and there was a tuning screw in the middle of the rear panel accessible without opening the top. This screw was loose when I bought my unit new which caused it to drift out of tune. After a couple of calls to the factory they figured out what the problem was.
Prophet 5 rev.2, Pro-One, Juno 60, Jupiter 6, Matrix 12, OB8, MS20, Poly 800, CS70M, DX-7, CP35, Casio PX-5S, Hammond C3/M102, Vox Continental/Super Continental, Gibson G101, Farfisa Compact, RMI 300A, Pianet N, Combo Pianet, S770, S760, S50, NS3C

Europanaut
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 6:38 am

Re: Arp Omni 2 tuning pot?

Post by Europanaut » Fri Nov 01, 2013 5:21 am

Aaaaah.....thanks! There is indeed a TINY screw, accessible via the top panel, and it is connected to L1 on the upper board. I couldn't see the hole in the dark studio, but it was obvious once I got it to the workbench in the shop. OF COURSE, the head of the screw didn't line up with the hole. What IS it with Arp anyway? So great, yet such inconsistent quality.

Thanks again everybody!

Post Reply