Korg Micropreset M500 problems.

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
Europanaut
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 6:38 am

Korg Micropreset M500 problems.

Post by Europanaut » Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:06 pm

Hey folks,

I have a Micropreset that is getting cranky.

Here's the symptoms:

On certain "patches", everything is fine. On others, some stops are missing, and the two "Synthe" buttons don't work at all.


Here are the details:

Voice - All good.
Wood - only 8 and 32 work.
String - all good.
Brass - all good.
Synthe 1 - none work.
Synthe 2 - none work.

I recently took it to a tech who decided that he wanted nothing to do with it, so I'm now on my own. I have a bit of electrical knowledge and soldering skill, so maybe with some help I can fix this neat old instrument.

Thanks everyone!

User avatar
rhino
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:00 pm
Real name: bill
Gear: keepers:
Kurzweil K2500x
Ensoniq TS-12
Yamaha SY-99
Alesis QS-8
Roland JD-800
Roland JX-10
Akai AX-80
Ensoniq SQ-80
Korg DSS-1
Moog Mini
Fizmo
Location: kentucky hills

Re: Korg Micropreset M500 problems.

Post by rhino » Sat Jan 04, 2014 12:31 am

First thing I'd do is a good, careful cleaning of the switches under the pushbuttons, and the rotary sound selection knob.
When the wise man points to the stars, the fool looks at the finger.
- Confucius

User avatar
gearfixer
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 8:02 pm
Gear: ARP Pro DGX, Avatar, EX 800, RS101, VK-8M, Juno 60, 200a, Fast 5, and Rhodes MK1 stage 73.
Location: New Brunswick

Re: Korg Micropreset M500 problems.

Post by gearfixer » Sat Jan 04, 2014 7:32 pm

I had one with similar problems and it was a bad trace. It does not help that they are not protected with a coating.
Image

Mark60
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 11:38 am

Re: Korg Micropreset M500 problems.

Post by Mark60 » Mon Mar 09, 2020 11:43 am

Did you ever fix this? Was it a trace?

(I have one with exactly the same issues. It might be the same one, of course! Thought I'd ask before I dive in!)

Thanks!

Annie Socoria
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2020 5:59 am

Re: Korg Micropreset M500 problems.

Post by Annie Socoria » Wed Apr 01, 2020 6:35 am

Mark60 wrote:
Mon Mar 09, 2020 11:43 am
(I have one with exactly the same issues. It might be the same one, of course! Thought I'd ask before I dive in!)
I was given one of these a few years ago and finally got around to troubleshooting it this week. It appears that this exact problem (missing Wood 2'/4'/16' & both Synth sections) is very common with these synths and is due to corroded circuit traces from leaking capacitors. In my case, both C50 & C51 were leaking. The damage from C50 cut out the Wood 2'/4'/16' voices and the damage from C51 cut out the Synth sections. C32 had also leaked but did not eat all the way through the traces underneath. Bypassing the damaged traces brought the missing voices back immediately. I intend to replace all of the original electrolytic capacitors as a matter of course.

Post Reply