How to sync Roland Tr 606 with Korg Volca Sample???

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
nakedjake

How to sync Roland Tr 606 with Korg Volca Sample???

Post by nakedjake » Tue Dec 30, 2014 8:35 pm

It's my first time posting so forgive me if I'm doing anything wrong.

I recently acquired a Roland Tr 606 and a Korg Volca Sample.
I'd like to sync them together, preferable using the Volca as the master as it gives me a BPM read out which would be handy but if that's not possible then the other way round would be fine. I'm a complete novice so I have no idea how this is done.

The 606 has a socket on the back that looks like midi and a switch to select sync in or out. It also has 2 mini jack outputs marked LT trigger and HT trigger but I'll come back to that.

On the Volca there is a port marked midi in but I don't think this is for sync as next to it is 2 mini jack ports marked sync in and sync out. Also in the manual it says the midi in is for instrument control. Could anyone elaborate on that for me? like I say, I'm a novice.

So I guess what I'm asking is.... Is it possible to run a cable from the Volca's mini jack marked sync out to the 606 port that looks like midi (but I think might be Din (what the h**l is Din? :? )) marked sync in to have them play nicely together?

Back to the LT trigger and HT trigger. I've used them to sync the Volca to the 606 but it means I have to write a Tom to every other step and then turn the volume of the Tom down. So basically I'm unable to use the Toms if I do it like that.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. :D

Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape

Re: How to sync Roland Tr 606 with Korg Volca Sample???