Trigger the Roland TR-8 with the SH-201 Arpeggiator?

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
machiwoomiapoo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 6:59 am
Real name: Samuel
Gear: Fantom G8, Juno 106, TR-8, TB-3, VT-3, DX7, DX27S, CZ1000, P350, Blazer, RGA8, RG8, RG9, S470, RG, JLV-6, DE 7, DP6FR, DKMG, Charvel 275, G-5 VG
Location: Olympia, Washington USA

Trigger the Roland TR-8 with the SH-201 Arpeggiator?

Post by machiwoomiapoo » Sat Apr 11, 2015 7:11 am

Hello Forum Help,
This is my first post here. I want to have my Roland SH-201 Arpeggiator trigger the Roland TR-8 so that they play in sync with one another. I've read both manuals, hooked them up via midi both ways, but all I've managed to do is have the ability to play the TR-8 drums on the SH-201 keyboard. Do I need a sync box like the Korg SQ-1 or Roland SBX-1? I didn't want to have to buy some expensive software for my computer to do it. Please let me know what to do. I appreciate any advice you can give.
Thank you.
Last edited by machiwoomiapoo on Mon May 04, 2015 7:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
MTFBWY LLAP,
Sam

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3550
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Re: Trigger the Roland TR-8 with the SH-201 Arpeggiator?

Post by Z » Sat Apr 11, 2015 2:24 pm

It would be best to use the TR-8 as the Master Clock and run the MIDI OUT of the TR-8 into the MIDI IN of the SH-201. Then set the SH-201's clock to External MIDI sync.

Simple as that.
youtube.com/zibbybone facebook.com/ZsFlippinGear

c-level
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 394
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:57 am
Real name: Mike
Gear: Juno106, JX10, JX8P, JX3P, MKS50, SY22, SH201, Micromoog, CP 251, Korg Legacy, Triton Rack, Ableton 9, APC40, Max/MSP, Focusrite Pro40, Jazz Bass.
Band: C-Level
Location: Baltimore
Contact:

Re: Trigger the Roland TR-8 with the SH-201 Arpeggiator?

Post by c-level » Sat Apr 11, 2015 5:30 pm

Z wrote:It would be best to use the TR-8 as the Master Clock and run the MIDI OUT of the TR-8 into the MIDI IN of the SH-201. Then set the SH-201's clock to External MIDI sync.

Simple as that.
except that the Sh201's arp and recorder dont sync to external sources, a total pitfall im just now realizing...

machiwoomiapoo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 6:59 am
Real name: Samuel
Gear: Fantom G8, Juno 106, TR-8, TB-3, VT-3, DX7, DX27S, CZ1000, P350, Blazer, RGA8, RG8, RG9, S470, RG, JLV-6, DE 7, DP6FR, DKMG, Charvel 275, G-5 VG
Location: Olympia, Washington USA

Re: Trigger the Roland TR-8 with the SH-201 Arpeggiator?

Post by machiwoomiapoo » Sat Apr 11, 2015 5:38 pm

I also have the Roland Fantom G8 which has plenty of arpeggiator patterns in it. Will that work?
MTFBWY LLAP,
Sam

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3550
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Re: Trigger the Roland TR-8 with the SH-201 Arpeggiator?

Post by Z » Sat Apr 11, 2015 11:54 pm

c-level wrote:
Z wrote:It would be best to use the TR-8 as the Master Clock and run the MIDI OUT of the TR-8 into the MIDI IN of the SH-201. Then set the SH-201's clock to External MIDI sync.

Simple as that.
except that the Sh201's arp and recorder dont sync to external sources, a total pitfall im just now realizing...
Take a look at page 68 of the owner's manual and you will see that you can sync it to external clock.
http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q= ... 1159,d.eXY
youtube.com/zibbybone facebook.com/ZsFlippinGear

machiwoomiapoo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 6:59 am
Real name: Samuel
Gear: Fantom G8, Juno 106, TR-8, TB-3, VT-3, DX7, DX27S, CZ1000, P350, Blazer, RGA8, RG8, RG9, S470, RG, JLV-6, DE 7, DP6FR, DKMG, Charvel 275, G-5 VG
Location: Olympia, Washington USA

Re: Trigger the Roland TR-8 with the SH-201 Arpeggiator?

Post by machiwoomiapoo » Mon May 04, 2015 6:58 am

I still haven't been able to solve this problem, so I'm going to search for a different keyboard to use with the tr-8.
MTFBWY LLAP,
Sam

User avatar
Tidda
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 5:30 pm

Re: Trigger the Roland TR-8 with the SH-201 Arpeggiator?

Post by Tidda » Mon May 04, 2015 5:22 pm

The steps in the manual (page 68) didn't work?

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: Trigger the Roland TR-8 with the SH-201 Arpeggiator?

Post by Stab Frenzy » Tue May 05, 2015 5:07 am

I had no problems syncing the SH-201 of an artist I was working with a while ago to external clock.

The problem isn't going to go away if you buy something else, you need to set it up properly to work, whatever you're using.

Post Reply