playing drum sounds on Roland 1080

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
MalRoyalE
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:32 pm

playing drum sounds on Roland 1080

Post by MalRoyalE » Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:37 pm

Hi, I wondered how I can play the drum sounds on my Roland 1080, powered by my drum machine ( fully midi )
I don't do computer music. I want to do it all as we ever did things years ago.
I know the drum sounds are on channel 10, how do I get my drum machine to play them
Any help would be great thank you
Melvyn

max badwan
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 1:34 am
Real name: Max
Gear: T1, XV 5080, ES1, Zaquencer
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: playing drum sounds on Roland 1080

Post by max badwan » Wed Apr 29, 2015 11:40 pm

Set the drum machine to transmit on channel 10. Assign the pads to the note-numbers you want to trigger.

MalRoyalE
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:32 pm

Re: playing drum sounds on Roland 1080

Post by MalRoyalE » Thu Apr 30, 2015 11:56 pm

Ah of course, I'll try this and let you know. Thank you thank you
Mel

MalRoyalE
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:32 pm

Re: playing drum sounds on Roland 1080

Post by MalRoyalE » Tue May 05, 2015 10:45 am

Ah so my very ancient RX 15 is ok to midi to a newer sound module, but choosing channel 10 is not something it seems to know about. Any ideas.
I like the RX15 cos you can alter time and tempo from bar to bar. I've used this for hundreds of recordings, and am quite accurate with it. It would be nice to continue using this unit with me new roland 1080.
Is there any way of altering the drum sounds from channel 10 ????
Ta

max badwan
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 1:34 am
Real name: Max
Gear: T1, XV 5080, ES1, Zaquencer
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: playing drum sounds on Roland 1080

Post by max badwan » Tue May 05, 2015 12:12 pm

MalRoyalE wrote:Ah so my very ancient RX 15 is ok to midi to a newer sound module, but choosing channel 10 is not something it seems to know about. Any ideas.
I like the RX15 cos you can alter time and tempo from bar to bar. I've used this for hundreds of recordings, and am quite accurate with it. It would be nice to continue using this unit with me new roland 1080.
Is there any way of altering the drum sounds from channel 10 ????
Ta
You can't change the drum channel on the 1080, it's fixed on 10. Page 42 of the RX manual will tell you how to set the MIDI channel. (Function/MIDI IN).

MalRoyalE
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:32 pm

Re: playing drum sounds on Roland 1080

Post by MalRoyalE » Sat May 09, 2015 7:23 pm

function and midi in, gets me to Omni which I switch to off, then choose channel 10 by way of data slider. Channel 10 is then set, but output still plays piano. I've tried channels 1 to 16 to see if this makes any difference, but still get piano
I've done this many times now and nothing but piano.
I like piano most of the time

max badwan
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 1:34 am
Real name: Max
Gear: T1, XV 5080, ES1, Zaquencer
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: playing drum sounds on Roland 1080

Post by max badwan » Sat May 16, 2015 6:40 am

MalRoyalE wrote:function and midi in, gets me to Omni which I switch to off, then choose channel 10 by way of data slider. Channel 10 is then set, but output still plays piano. I've tried channels 1 to 16 to see if this makes any difference, but still get piano
I've done this many times now and nothing but piano.
I like piano most of the time
Is the JV in performance mode? Have you tried Function/MIDI OUT as a combo?

Calgonstudio
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 6:26 pm
Real name: Ric
Band: Client No7

Re: playing drum sounds on Roland 1080

Post by Calgonstudio » Sat May 16, 2015 7:23 pm

I have nothing to offer here, just want to find out the results......

MalRoyalE
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:32 pm

Re: playing drum sounds on Roland 1080

Post by MalRoyalE » Mon May 25, 2015 10:48 am

Eureka !!!!! So yes I altered each pad to channel midi 10 and its working. there are a couple of pads that share sounds, and only one of the pad choices do the drums, but essentially this works really brill.
Yippeeeeee !!! thank you

Post Reply