A DX7 Mystery

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
HappyFunTimes

A DX7 Mystery

Post by HappyFunTimes » Sun May 10, 2015 6:32 am

First, let me explain my motivation. My brother died in 2013, and to remember him I started learning to play synthesizers since he loved all forms of electronic music. I began with some cheap casios and yamahas, and then learned subtractive synthesis on a microkorg. Once I was a little better I decided to get a dx7 because my brother was born in 1983, and the 80s sounds were some he truly loved. I read that the dx7 was notoriously difficult to program, but I welcomed the challenge.

The first few months were not easy. In the same time frame, I learned basic music theory, and could improvise well enough on a piano enough to entertain non musicians. However the dx7 did not sound well when I played it. I started to have second thoughts about whether my time and energy directed at this machine would ever pay off. Or, maybe I was just not a musician. I stuck with it, and was finally beginning to witness the power at my hands. Yesterday as I was playing, it seemed the dx7 was in fact the time machine I had been looking for. I could do almost anything I wanted with it, and it all sounded like I was back in the good old days. Then I hear this "pop" sound, the display disappears, and silence.

f**k MY LIFE!