TX802 MIDI slider control

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
Daniel Byrne
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 10:09 pm

TX802 MIDI slider control

Post by Daniel Byrne » Tue Sep 08, 2015 2:12 am

Hi, I'm struggling to find an answer to this question:

Is it possible to program a MIDI slider so that it edits the highlighted parameter on the TX802?

I don't mean assigning it to a single parameter btw; I mean assigning it to be some kind of general data slider that edits whatever parameter is selected on the TX802, like the data slider on the DX7 does.

Many thanks,
Dan.

Sonus
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 5:33 pm

Re: TX802 MIDI slider control

Post by Sonus » Tue Sep 08, 2015 10:03 am

Of course, it's a standard midi controller.

Bn : controller midi channel n=0~F
06 : data entry msb
xx : value 00~63

TX802 parameter range 0~99.

Daniel Byrne
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: TX802 MIDI slider control

Post by Daniel Byrne » Wed Sep 09, 2015 3:06 pm

Thanks for the reply Sonus. I'm using an M-Audio Keystation 61es MIDI keyboard controller. Following the instruction manual, I have programmed the volume slider to control the data entry msb (cc06). However, it's not altering the highlighted parameter as desired.

Of note: on the TX802 itself, you have a control number assign table, which allows you to map cc's 0-31 and 64-121 to any of the following: mod wheel, breath control, foot control, portamento time, volume, sustain switch, portamento switch. Assigning the volume slider to any of these functions works as desired, so I know that the keyboard is now transmitting cc06, and not cc07.

Maybe I also need to send cc101 (rpn) or cc99 (nrpn) messages in addition? If that's the case then I don't think I will be able to do this from my keyboard. I'm one of those "hardware purists" and using software on a pc to do what I'm trying to do is out of my interest.

Have I made a mistake somewhere? If not, am I right in saying that I can't assign the slider on my keyboard to control the highlighted parameter of the TX802? And if so, are there keyboards that would allow me to do this?

As you can imagine, I'm not that experienced with MIDI. I've been reading this page for info: http://www.philrees.co.uk/nrpnq.htm

Thanks again,
Dan.

Edit: I just noticed in the MIDI implementation chart for this synth, it only mentions cc's 1,2,4,5,7,64, 65, which correspond to mod wheel, breath control, foot control, portamento time, volume, sustain switch, portamento switch, respectively. So perhaps cc06 isn't implemented?

Sonus
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 5:33 pm

Re: TX802 MIDI slider control

Post by Sonus » Wed Sep 09, 2015 6:54 pm

Hi Dan,

You're completely right, TX802 cc's cannot be assigned to 06.
In edit mode, DX7II slider transmits system exclusive messages.
This way, TX802 patches can be programmed using the keyboard.

Thanks for clarifying!

Image
Last edited by Sonus on Thu Sep 10, 2015 6:55 am, edited 2 times in total.

Daniel Byrne
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: TX802 MIDI slider control

Post by Daniel Byrne » Wed Sep 09, 2015 8:25 pm

Thanks for all your help Sonus. :)

I'll probably just sell the TX802 and buy a DX7 mk2 with the E! expansion board. I bought the TX802 initially because I prefer the smaller rack format (my room is tiny) but programming without a slider is just a pain. Plus all those buttons on the DX7 make accessing parameters quicker.

Why Yamaha chose not to put a data slider on the TX802 is beyond my understanding. I enjoy having limitations put on me that are out of my control, but not having a slider is a step too far for me. It takes up so much time!

Cheers again,
Dan.

Daniel Byrne
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: TX802 MIDI slider control

Post by Daniel Byrne » Wed Sep 09, 2015 9:35 pm

Hi again.

I was wondering if you might know if it's possible to use the DX11's slider to program the TX802. If I could then I'm sorted, cause I plan to get a DX11 eventually anyway, because it has a pitch envelope which the TX81z doesn't. Yamaha logic again...

Thanks,
Dan.

User avatar
gmeredith
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 717
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:06 am
Band: Warning Will Robinson
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: TX802 MIDI slider control

Post by gmeredith » Wed Sep 09, 2015 11:06 pm

The other thing you could do is get some sort of electro-mechanical repeater switch, controlled by a slider or pot, such that when you turn it, it closes a switch repeatedly quickly - perhaps a rotary encoder controlling a solid state switch. This then could be simply soldered to the data + - buttons, and would simply simulate pressing these buttons rapidly to change the values. Don't know how you'd do it, but I read about someone making something like this to do the same thing on an Alesis MMT8 sequencer.
Casio: FZ1, CZ101, PG380, VZ10M, SK8, SK60, RAP10, DP1 drums, DH100, CDP200, DM100
Yamaha: TX81z, TX802, SHS10, DTXv2
Roland: SH101, DR660, MS1, PM16, TR33
Others: Korg MicroKontrol, ES-1, Alesis MMT8, Emu ESi2000 & card reader, BCR2000, V-Machine

Sonus
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 5:33 pm

Re: TX802 MIDI slider control

Post by Sonus » Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:13 am

Daniel Byrne wrote: I was wondering if you might know if it's possible to use the DX11's slider to program the TX802.
Not at all, system exclusive messages are incompatible.

The TG77 has a much better midi implementation. 8-)

Image

Daniel Byrne
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: TX802 MIDI slider control

Post by Daniel Byrne » Fri Sep 11, 2015 8:49 pm

@gmeredith, awesome suggestion! I probably won't try it myself though, as I'm not experienced in electronics, but if I were I would totally give this a shot.

@Sonus yes it seems so. It also has a data slider. :)

Thanks for your help peopz, much appreciated.

Post Reply