Analog Gear Setup

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
babaribou

Analog Gear Setup

Post by babaribou » Sat Oct 17, 2015 8:48 pm

Hi everyone,

I am trying to figure out how to set up my gear in order to record the stuff I make, but as I am new to the world of midi (and to the whole recording sphere as well) I am having some doubts about what I think should be the good way to set things up.

Here is what I would like to connect in order to record:
-Roland MC-500 Sequencer (2 midi outputs)
-Poly 800
-DX7
-EPS Sampler
-Rhythm Wolf Drum Machine
-Electribe ER-1 Drum Machine
-Mackie Mixer (CR1604)
- a potential soundcard to connect to my mac

As I understood during my research, it is better to split the instruments on the 2 outputs (to reduce the latency I believe, which seems logical) from the sequencer.

In my drawing, the black lines would represent the 1/4' lines (outputs from the instruments to mixer inputs) and the green ones the midi.
Would that be a correct way to configure it ? One question remains though is that if I want to record in step sequencing, would I have to plug everything back into the sequencer ? Because it only has one midi in so the would be problematic if I split my gear on the 2 outputs I suppose. I am kind of lost as you can probably tell.

Also, I do not have an audio interface yet. I own an Mbox Pro 2 since a couple of years, but just realized that there was no driver available for OSX Yosemite ( so I guess it is just no usable anymore ?) which sucks because I didnt need more than what it is (24 bits 96khz, firewire, might not be the best ai out there but well... would have been good to spare the extra money)