Connecting Akai S2000 to Novation Launchpad

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
User avatar
mm1
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:45 am

Connecting Akai S2000 to Novation Launchpad

Post by mm1 » Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:39 am

So I have an S2000 sitting in my studio & I thought instead of paying $500AUD for an MPC unit, I would just get a midi pad for $150 & just use that. I'm wondering if there's a way to get the two devices to talk to each other, do I have to do any sort of programming in the S2000 or can I just connect the two devices via MIDI?

Calgonstudio
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 6:26 pm
Real name: Ric
Band: Client No7

Re: Connecting Akai S2000 to Novation Launchpad

Post by Calgonstudio » Fri Dec 04, 2015 2:43 pm

I can't say for sure but if you have a USB to Midi convertor cable it should work.
I hooked a MPD26 up to my S5000, that I borrowed from a friend used that for a while to see if I would like it for drums better then a Keyboard. same concept ... I think.

User avatar
mm1
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:45 am

Re: Connecting Akai S2000 to Novation Launchpad

Post by mm1 » Fri Dec 04, 2015 2:51 pm

Alright, that sounds simple enough, I've got one of those.

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5182
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Flangebeast Mk1, Plonkotron, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Band: Minim
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Connecting Akai S2000 to Novation Launchpad

Post by madtheory » Fri Dec 04, 2015 5:06 pm

It's not as simple as it sounds. This WON'T work:
Image

but this KENTON box will.

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5824
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Logic Pro X

Re: Connecting Akai S2000 to Novation Launchpad

Post by meatballfulton » Fri Dec 04, 2015 6:47 pm

Good idea, except the Launchpad is a bad choice for your application:

First it needs power over the USB connection.

Second it wants to connect to a USB host (see the link to the Kenton box above, there are others).

Third the Launchpad is customized by a script being run on the computer it is attached to...obviously a problem when there is no computer!

If you just want a MIDI pad controller, look into something like the Arturia Beatstep, which even includes a step sequencer and is cheaper than the Launchpad although with fewer pads.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5182
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Flangebeast Mk1, Plonkotron, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Band: Minim
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Connecting Akai S2000 to Novation Launchpad

Post by madtheory » Fri Dec 04, 2015 7:18 pm

A small point- the Kenton box can do USB power. Ya Beatstep is much cooler- isn't there a free one on the other thread?

User avatar
mm1
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:45 am

Re: Connecting Akai S2000 to Novation Launchpad

Post by mm1 » Sat Dec 05, 2015 6:00 am

madtheory wrote:It's not as simple as it sounds. This WON'T work:
Image

but this KENTON box will.
I've actually had trouble with those leads before, I bought an M-Audio Uno to replace it. they're much cheaper than the midi host boxes.

Post Reply