XV5080"static"problem!

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
User avatar
Studiostriver
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 12:47 pm
Real name: Dado
Gear: Roland XV5080, Yamaha SY77, Korg N364, Behringer Model D
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
Contact:

XV5080"static"problem!

Post by Studiostriver » Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:13 am

Hi to all.
I recently made a little conversation on vintage synth explorer site with persona nicknamed as WopWup in comment section about XV5080.

At first I didn`t get what he is ponting about,cause my English got tendencies to suck from time to time.

Nevertheless you can see our discussion there,but to make it easier I will copy paste our little conversation.
Hopefully that guy will step up into conversation if he is member of this forum.
Here we go:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WopWup • a month ago
I think the XV-5080 is a piece of c**p! It sounds fantastic but you will have a hard time finding one where all the patches is ok. Many XV-5080's starts to sound very bad with a lot of digital static on top of the patches rendering the XV-5080's almost useless. It's a shame because it was a beautiful synth module, but it's internals is a pile of sh*t :-(
Dado WopWup • 7 hours ago

Make your own presets,and buy few ones as well.Do not be a noob.Even today there were places where you can buy it.And goob librarian makes things smooth.I personally added DI-AT R-Bus/adat convertor and use it even today.Programming is very deep and intuitive.Once you learn how to shape the sound you can still make fresh,highly original and above all usable sounds.

WopWup Dado • 7 hours ago

But that is not the problem! The sounds from the XV-5080 is great, and so is the feature set, but the electronics is s**t! I work professionally with repairing this kind of equipment, and i can tell you that every XV-5080 is driving it's components right to the max! All 5 volt circuits is approx.5,25 - 5,35 Volts. Thats right at the absolute maximum for the integrated circuits, and will eventually burn them out! Thats part of the problem, and problems will show up as static on some patches. Again - nothing wrong with the sound of the XV-5080, but it's internals is c**p :-(
Dado WopWup • 5 hours ago

Do not know about that.I`ve been using it for ages and never head any single problem.I actually never heard anyone ever had problem with XV5080 or any older XV series.

I know that it hardly got to do with it,but just maybe adding extra RAM will be of any help,or that only affect using samples?
WopWup Dado • 4 hours ago

You can try to google "xv-5080 static". There are many people that have problems with their XV-5080's. Adding extra ram does not cure the problem as it's a malfunction in the sound generating circuits. Luckily it is easy to fix the powersupply so that it delivers excactly 5 Volts. It requires a little unexpensive (a potentiometer) modification in the feedback circuitry of the switchmode power supply. An easy job for any electronics specialist :-)
Dado WopWup • an hour ago

Hey,thanks for an answer.I still do not know if I`m having this problem but if it helps I would like to do this if it is not such a hard thing.
Can we please talk via vintage synth explorer forum.I will post topic related to this specific issue.I would like to gather some basic info about how/what needs to be done in order to do this"simple modification".
So that I can take my module to electronics specialist in my country and explain him briefly the process.

Sorry for my English.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

To short a story little bit I live in the a*s of the world,country Bosnia.We do not have Roland technicians here.To send module to other side of the planet makes no sense.The best thing I can do is to take it to very good local electronics specialist who work with computers and all that stuff.


Is there anyone here who possess knowledge(or know someone)to make little schematics what exactly he(electronic technician)needs to do in order to fix the problem.I ask this since WopWup said its not hard to get fixed.

I am willing if there is any way I can help with make some photo shots inside the XV5080 etc...
Since that is best I can do. :?
I compose,play various instruments,doing audio editing,music production but aside of that I`m total noob about electronics.

I sincerely hope I will find someone to help me,since this is one of my favorite piece of equipment.

Best regards.
Keep dreaming...

Baus
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 1:56 pm

Re: XV5080"static"problem!

Post by Baus » Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:48 am

Too long for me to read it all.

If you want a Service Manual head over to synfo.nl and in the Roland
category you will find it.

Robin

User avatar
Studiostriver
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 12:47 pm
Real name: Dado
Gear: Roland XV5080, Yamaha SY77, Korg N364, Behringer Model D
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
Contact:

Re: XV5080"static"problem!

Post by Studiostriver » Sun Apr 17, 2016 1:29 am

Everything is said above.And its hard to said it very short.

Here is link where it explain what that actually cause to the sound.

https://www.gearslutz.com/board/electro ... sound.html

Some patches release static noise after playing it awhile.But not all.

On outputs I get noise floor that is in the background.Its not too noisy,but on some patches the noise level is bigger.
And even using DIF-AT via RBus/adat converter I getting high noise floor,but this time noticeable even on meters on my music card. EMU 1212M.

For all this time I thought that got to do with my midi controller Novation Impulse 61 cause something it locks on one note so that static noise pops up.Or with my sound card which I intend to change at the end of the year to more expensive RME UCX

I will copy paste again WopWup`s comment from above.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I work professionally with repairing this kind of equipment, and i can tell you that every XV-5080 is driving it's components right to the max! All 5 volt circuits is approx.5,25 - 5,35 Volts. Thats right at the absolute maximum for the integrated circuits, and will eventually burn them out! Thats part of the problem, and problems will show up as static on some patches. Again - nothing wrong with the sound of the XV-5080, but it's internals is c**p :-(

It's a malfunction in the sound generating circuits. Luckily it is easy to fix the powersupply so that it delivers excactly 5 Volts. It requires a little unexpensive (a potentiometer) modification in the feedback circuitry of the switchmode power supply
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I though if all XV5080 have this problem he stating,I should like to do that mod to see if that will fix certain problems I getting with XV5080.

If there is a way I would likw to know and try it.
Keep dreaming...

User avatar
Studiostriver
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 12:47 pm
Real name: Dado
Gear: Roland XV5080, Yamaha SY77, Korg N364, Behringer Model D
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
Contact:

Re: XV5080"static"problem!

Post by Studiostriver » Sun Apr 17, 2016 1:32 am

Baus wrote:Too long for me to read it all.

If you want a Service Manual head over to synfo.nl and in the Roland
category you will find it.

Robin
No one is certainly obliged to do anything.I find and downloaded the service manual on synfo.nl .Thanks alot.

I hope someone will have courage to read it and try to help me further on this.
Here is direct link to service manual:
http://www.synfo.nl/servicemanuals/Rola ... _NOTES.pdf

I`m kind a desperate and do not know where to look elsewhere for help.

I can certainly continue using it without this fix like I used too,but it would be good to being able to get rid of those malfunctions that going on my nerves from time to time.
Keep dreaming...

blueknob
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 12:30 pm
Gear: ESi32/E6400U, Novation Supernova, Ensoniq, vintage Macs and the like.
Location: England, UK

Re: XV5080"static"problem!

Post by blueknob » Sun Apr 17, 2016 8:13 am

For what's it worth, I've had a quick look at the circuit. It seems there are 4 stereo DACs fed from local voltage regulators, which is a nice touch. So establish that your noise problem can be heard on all these outputs one by one.
Then determine if the noise also comes from the digital outputs also, obviously this will require hooking up to other digital equipment.
The object of the exercise is to determine if the noise is in the analogue/DAC section or is somewhere in the digital/synth computer part.


BTW: Countries are beautiful, it's the criminal element that makes them unbearable.

User avatar
Genesis92
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:15 pm
Contact:

Re: XV5080"static"problem!

Post by Genesis92 » Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:20 pm

Hello :)
I'm working on this issue and I think to have found the problem.
more infos here (sorry but I can't make a thread about this problem on each board talking about this issue):
http://forums.rolandclan.com/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=41583
Last edited by Genesis92 on Tue Jan 10, 2017 2:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Studiostriver
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 12:47 pm
Real name: Dado
Gear: Roland XV5080, Yamaha SY77, Korg N364, Behringer Model D
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
Contact:

Re: XV5080"static"problem!

Post by Studiostriver » Tue Jan 10, 2017 2:30 pm

Thanks a lot.I`ll check it know!
Keep dreaming...

User avatar
Genesis92
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:15 pm
Contact:

Re: XV5080"static"problem!

Post by Genesis92 » Wed Jan 11, 2017 9:20 pm

it's solved :)

User avatar
sneakthief
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 9:43 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: XV5080"static"problem!

Post by sneakthief » Wed Jan 11, 2017 9:31 pm

Which replacement voltage regulator did you use?
sneak-thief: raw electrofunk!
http://sneak-thief.com

Post Reply