Vintage Computers

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
User avatar
caligari
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 5:19 am
Location: Laramie, Wyoming

Post by caligari » Sat Dec 09, 2006 11:09 am

I have had good luck with a *cough cough* commodre 64 with a Moog song producer interface and the software that comes with it.

Before you laugh this system allows for a master midi keyboard, a midi drum machine, two more midi synths, AND eigth analog trigger or gate outputs to MIDI sequence your old control voltage gear or an eight channel analog drum machine like a tama techstar or similar.

plus you get more than 12000 notes and disk storage, 5 1/4

beat that!!!!
Current Rig : Mac G5, MOTU 828 mkII, Moog Minimoog, Arp Axxe, Korg Poly 61m, Korg Poly-800, Korg Microkorg, Ensoniq ESQ 1, SQ-80, EPS sampler, DX-27, DX-7, Rx-5 drum machine, Alesis HR-16, Boss Dr-55, Synare, PAIA 9700 system, Roland MKS-100,

User avatar
DX
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Spain. Europe.

Post by DX » Sat Dec 09, 2006 10:02 pm

recently I Bought a C64 Too. I am thinking about the moog expansion or a cartridge that allows sequencing etc...
Roland Promars, E-mu EMAX and some other machines...

zukskywalker
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 9:39 pm

Post by zukskywalker » Sun Dec 10, 2006 3:21 am

I've still got at least one C64 buried around here somewhere along with a very sexy old SX-64 that I plan to put back into "service". But I still remember how the C64, waaay back in the day drove me nuts because it could not keep time! Click tracks were always lopsided (click-CLICK!-click-click-CLICK!....),which caused me to run out and buy a drum machine as a master clock(Roland TR>C64>CZ101).
BTW, yes the dusty old Amiga kicked it off with the Toaster and deserves credit for the beginnings of computer editing. It was way ahead of it's time.
(Hey DX, you might want to try and dig up a Dr. T Model T or a Passport Designs midi cartridge for your C-64)

User avatar
caligari
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 5:19 am
Location: Laramie, Wyoming

Post by caligari » Wed Dec 13, 2006 6:52 am

I've never had a timing problem with the Moog interface because it can external synch to whatever you want, even tape, via a 1/4 inch jack. Also can provide a click track. I have been impressed with it over the years. Too bad Moog computer music only ever made this item.
Current Rig : Mac G5, MOTU 828 mkII, Moog Minimoog, Arp Axxe, Korg Poly 61m, Korg Poly-800, Korg Microkorg, Ensoniq ESQ 1, SQ-80, EPS sampler, DX-27, DX-7, Rx-5 drum machine, Alesis HR-16, Boss Dr-55, Synare, PAIA 9700 system, Roland MKS-100,

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5163
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Flangebeast Mk1, Plonkotron, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Band: Minim
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Post by madtheory » Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:18 am

Does the Moog system have any interesting quirks that could not be replicated in a modern sequencer? So far, all the functions that have been mentioned are standard fare.

User avatar
Dustin
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 2:47 am

Post by Dustin » Sun Dec 24, 2006 4:41 am

I still like to use my 486 and old SPG software. I agree that a C64, older Mac, or an Atari ST is still the ultimate MIDI sequencer. I'm considering the purchase of an Atari ST for my sequencing needs. Just because there is no latency at all.

User avatar
wiss
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2138
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:03 pm
Gear: it's all being sold to fund new gear
Location: Chicago

Post by wiss » Sun Dec 24, 2006 10:07 am

I use a G4 that runs OS9.2.2...I run motu 3.0 DP...motu 828 audio interface...I maxed the Ram...and use a OWC firewire strorage unit.....I also use a ibook g3 running motu 3.0 out live....has never failed..oh I will upgrade someday....I dont use any software programs outside of the DP...I would still record to analog reel to reels...but tape is getting pricy becuase its no longer being made and my last machine died on me. I figured the G4 set up would be better than a ADAT's....I am not sure at this point if I made the right choice...but I had the G4 and ibook G3 sitting in my house collecting dust...so I said ok I will use these for something...and it been 3 years with this set-up
Last edited by wiss on Sun Dec 24, 2006 10:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
wiss
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2138
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:03 pm
Gear: it's all being sold to fund new gear
Location: Chicago

Post by wiss » Sun Dec 24, 2006 10:10 am

oh oh oh I almost forgot...I hade a powerbook from 1994 that runs a super old version of motu....the midi was sent thru a printer interface...a few years back I left it in my car and it dropped below zero and has never worked since...but I did some retarded s**t with that and a novation basstation

User avatar
Sorcerio
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 6:28 pm
Location: somewhere in the midwest

Post by Sorcerio » Sun Dec 24, 2006 2:02 pm

wiss wrote:I would still record to analog reel to reels...but tape is getting pricey because its no longer being made
Oh but it is! The Quantegy production house is still pumping it out!!! 8)

Oh and staying on the topic of vintage computers. I have been using an Atari 1040STf since yesterday. Good God I love it!

User avatar
vanitypolice
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:14 pm
Gear: XTk, Model D, Cat, MicroKorg, Voyager RME, RE-201, Logic 8, Waldorf Edition, Komplete Synths, Sylenth1, Ultra Analog VA-1, Ozone 4, red Gibson SG.
Band: Dangerous Muse
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by vanitypolice » Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:04 am

so what is everyone's optimal tape and midi setup?
I have found that when it comes to gear, believe the hype.

User avatar
Alex E
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2235
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:07 am
Gear: Virus C, Super Bass Station, M1r, TX81z, S760, Nord Rack 2, Nord Lead 3, JP-8000, JV-2080, SY99, Trinity Plus, EMX1, TB-03. Live 9, iMac MC309XX/A
Location: Anaheim, CA

I like the C64, but also...

Post by Alex E » Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:31 am

If it has a sound chip, I will rock it.
soundcloud.com/vectron


User avatar
Alex E
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2235
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:07 am
Gear: Virus C, Super Bass Station, M1r, TX81z, S760, Nord Rack 2, Nord Lead 3, JP-8000, JV-2080, SY99, Trinity Plus, EMX1, TB-03. Live 9, iMac MC309XX/A
Location: Anaheim, CA

Post by Alex E » Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:35 am

DX wrote:recently I Bought a C64 Too. I am thinking about the moog expansion or a cartridge that allows sequencing etc...
There's always Prophet 64 though!
soundcloud.com/vectron


User avatar
vanitypolice
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:14 pm
Gear: XTk, Model D, Cat, MicroKorg, Voyager RME, RE-201, Logic 8, Waldorf Edition, Komplete Synths, Sylenth1, Ultra Analog VA-1, Ozone 4, red Gibson SG.
Band: Dangerous Muse
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by vanitypolice » Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:41 am

so, over christmas dinner i found out that my uncle has 2 C64s in his house, which I can use. He dones't have any music sofftware for them tho. What might I be able to get for them and how would i get it onto them.
I have found that when it comes to gear, believe the hype.

User avatar
Alex E
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2235
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:07 am
Gear: Virus C, Super Bass Station, M1r, TX81z, S760, Nord Rack 2, Nord Lead 3, JP-8000, JV-2080, SY99, Trinity Plus, EMX1, TB-03. Live 9, iMac MC309XX/A
Location: Anaheim, CA

Post by Alex E » Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:53 am

vanitypolice wrote:so, over christmas dinner i found out that my uncle has 2 C64s in his house, which I can use. He dones't have any music sofftware for them tho. What might I be able to get for them and how would i get it onto them.
If they work, Each one may go for about maybe $25 -$75 on ebay. I think. Now, If you get Prophet64 or Synthcart you can make a lot of music with it. You could take the SID out of one of them and maybe make a midibox SID, or do a SID2SID modification where you have Prophet 64 running with 2 SID chips in your commodore 64, as long as both chips are the same kind of revision.
soundcloud.com/vectron


User avatar
vanitypolice
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:14 pm
Gear: XTk, Model D, Cat, MicroKorg, Voyager RME, RE-201, Logic 8, Waldorf Edition, Komplete Synths, Sylenth1, Ultra Analog VA-1, Ozone 4, red Gibson SG.
Band: Dangerous Muse
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by vanitypolice » Tue Dec 26, 2006 3:35 am

where can i find information about the midibox SID, SID2SID, or Pro64?
I have found that when it comes to gear, believe the hype.

Post Reply