analog-y

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
tomorrowstops
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 2:55 pm
Location: Portland, ME

analog-y

Post by tomorrowstops » Thu Jan 28, 2010 5:04 pm

what are you folks running your analog hardware synths into? more specifically for recording. di's? guitar amps?

i'm curious to see those that have put some serious creative thought into their amplification setups.

maybe you don't want to add color to your beautiful synths. or maybe, you do.

....for instance, i've been experimenting with my juno 6 through a fender vibrolux.

share!

Scories
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 617
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 8:57 pm
Gear: Micromoog, JX-3P, Minikorg 700, Z1
Location: Québec - CANADA
Contact:

Re: analog-y

Post by Scories » Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:13 pm

[edit] Planning to run it through a M-283 tube processor.
Last edited by Scories on Fri Jan 29, 2010 3:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5822
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Logic Pro X

Re: analog-y

Post by meatballfulton » Fri Jan 29, 2010 2:05 am

I just go direct. no need for a DI because most synths have line outputs.

Guitar amps act like bandpass filters plus EQ and distortion so not of much interest even though I have a bunch lying around.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
aXL
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 8:28 pm
Gear: Moog LP Stage II, Ensoniq ESQ-1, Nord Electro 3, Roland JP-8080, Akai SynthStation 49, numerous softies...
Band: Nemesis Kane
Location: Somewhere

Re: analog-y

Post by aXL » Fri Jan 29, 2010 3:43 am

I run the Moog through a Boss RE-20 Space Echo for slight delay/reverb, while the (hybrid, but anyway) Ensoniq ESQ-1 goes through a CE-20 chorus as well as the Space Echo. Usually I record one synth at a time, and will only occasionally opt for shoving it all through an EQ or something in Cubase.
Sir Nose wrote:It's like sex with or without a condom. You know which choice is gonna feel better, but it's not always a wise choice.
Disciples of the new wave, portaits in the sand...

User avatar
code green
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 6:58 am
Gear: prophet 600/evolver/juno 6/alpha juno 2/bassst'n/crumar performer/jv1010/suitcase rhodes 73/ '78 gibson l6-s/'73 guild mahogany/'69 fender princeton
Band: thermite zapruder
Location: brooklyn

Re: analog-y

Post by code green » Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:34 am

i think i'm going to start sending recording selected parts acoustically, either through amps or pa....

Post Reply