Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.
User avatar
rharris07
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1124
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 4:41 am
Real name: Ryan
Band: Ghost Fires, The Witch Family
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by rharris07 » Thu Oct 14, 2010 2:11 am

Esus wrote:
rharris07 wrote:This one looks easy enough to read...

Image
Is that Klaus Schulze's studio?

Yes sir, it is.

sequentialsoftshock wrote:I don't really think I like the projector setup. It looks kind of blurry even in the photo...

It's actually not. I've seen it in a video interview of him, and it looked a lot more clear than that picture, plus it wasn't all yellow-ish. The pictures are just from a crappy camera I believe. They're from 2002 - you know how bad cameras were way back then!

MEK | SixTrak | DrumTraks | Motif 8 | DW8000 | MicroKorg | EMX1 & ESX1 | Soviet TOM | Arp Quartet | SD-1 32V | Elka 490 | Indigo 2 | E6400 | Morpheus | SQ2 | DotCom Modular

User avatar
Zamise
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2351
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 2:41 am
Gear: Rollhand P00
Band: Quantum-Source
Location: DenverMetroUSA, Quantum-Source.com
Contact:

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by Zamise » Thu Oct 14, 2010 3:42 pm

Helm, warp 7, engage.
<ZQS> [....<OII>.....soundcloud player v2.42.....................link]

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3791
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V
Location: Central VA

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by Ashe37 » Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:46 am

We have a 46" plasma display in the living room. My roomate/bandmate and I occasionally refer to it as "the viewscreen".

User avatar
gmeredith
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 707
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:06 am
Band: Warning Will Robinson
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by gmeredith » Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:33 am

OK i got my G450 dual monitor card and installed it - I now have 2 monitors running off my desktop :)

The main monitor I have running my Samplitude DAW software main running track page, the other monitor runs its mixer page. I'm loving it! The trouble is, now I've heard of people running up to SIX monitors - i have monitor lust!!

So anyway, I measured up the space available for a largish LCD monitor or TV and found a 32" widescreen TV will just fit neatly in the space. I haven't seen any 32" computer screens on the market locally, so I guess it will have to be a TV - which I don't mind as I can always tune into some show while doing post-production cleanup or graphics design, or run a DVD player into it.

One more question, on the subject of monitor lust - has anyone tried those USB-to-VGA monitor adapters as another dual monitor option? I was thinking if they worked well it would be an easy way of adding a 3rd monitor instead of stuffing about with a second video card.

Cheers, graham
Casio: FZ1, CZ101, PG380, VZ10M, SK8, SK60, RAP10, DP1 drums, DH100, CDP200, DM100
Yamaha: TX81z, TX802, SHS10, DTXv2
Roland: SH101, DR660, MS1, PM16, TR33
Others: Korg MicroKontrol, ES-1, Alesis MMT8, Emu ESi2000 & card reader, BCR2000, V-Machine

User avatar
Zamise
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2351
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 2:41 am
Gear: Rollhand P00
Band: Quantum-Source
Location: DenverMetroUSA, Quantum-Source.com
Contact:

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by Zamise » Wed Oct 20, 2010 2:55 am

I've seen those usb monitor thingys used for office work, they seem OK, don't know how well they'd do for heavy graphics, animation, or video type usage tho.
<ZQS> [....<OII>.....soundcloud player v2.42.....................link]

User avatar
Old Iron Giant
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 385
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 6:18 am
Gear: Virus Ti2, Indig2, EmuXL7, Microkorg.
Band: KHz+
Location: Far Side of the moon
Contact:

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by Old Iron Giant » Wed Oct 20, 2010 7:40 am

to be honest, you won't notice much of a difference using either or "PC monitor or TV monitor".
I assume your PC supports DVI video out? DVI = HDMI, just use a crossover plug and you will be fine.

I've used my 42" samsung for both Gaming and daily web browsing, with no error in graphics or readability.

[My setup]
two, MSI nVidia 275 GTX Twin frozr - SLI
AMD Phenom II B/E, Overclock 4.3ghz watercooled @ 27*c safe.
Corsair Dominator DDR3, 8gb @1333ghz 1.5v , HT+2500mhz 6.6.6.21 "say what you will, its faster then 1600mhz"
it's an AMD thing, you wouldn't understand :lol:

User avatar
psyfi
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 5:08 pm

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by psyfi » Sun Oct 24, 2010 12:43 pm

I use a 27" not HD ready TV through VGA and its fine. I can clearly see this texts as I write its not blurred or strobing or anything like that. I'm running at 1920x1080 as some lower res do look bad and parts of fonts get lost but hit on the right res and its fine.
I will look at getting an HD set in a few years once the free HD broadcasts are available in my area but until then I@ve no complaints.

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3791
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V
Location: Central VA

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by Ashe37 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 3:37 pm

psyfi wrote:I use a 27" not HD ready TV through VGA and its fine. I can clearly see this texts as I write its not blurred or strobing or anything like that. I'm running at 1920x1080 as some lower res do look bad and parts of fonts get lost but hit on the right res and its fine.
I will look at getting an HD set in a few years once the free HD broadcasts are available in my area but until then I@ve no complaints.
Lower resolutions look bad because the TV is scaling them up to its full resolution in its own hardware.

User avatar
CROYBOY89
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:43 pm
Gear: Novation Bass Station II, MicroKorg, Roland JU-06, Arturia Keystep in Logic Pro X
Location: America

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by CROYBOY89 » Fri Nov 05, 2010 9:46 am

I use a 32" TV all the time. It's kinda nice editing MIDI notes when the bars are huge
I've got the brains, you've got the looks, let's make lots of money!

User avatar
gmeredith
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 707
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:06 am
Band: Warning Will Robinson
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: Large LCD TV as studio monitor

Post by gmeredith » Thu Jan 06, 2011 1:09 am

Just revisiting this thread to tell of my results. I managed to get a Sanyo 32" LCD LED backlit TV on post x-mas special for about $400. Tried it out in the studio and it is just superb! Crystal clear, text all nice and sharp and clean. Samplitude Studio looks great as I sit in my big office recliner surveying my kingdom, easy on the eyes at about 5 feet away and I don't have to squint! I'm also using a 21" LCD computer monitor as a dual monitor setup to run the mixer page while the big screen runs the main recording track page. This is the life!
:dancer:

Cheers, Graham
Casio: FZ1, CZ101, PG380, VZ10M, SK8, SK60, RAP10, DP1 drums, DH100, CDP200, DM100
Yamaha: TX81z, TX802, SHS10, DTXv2
Roland: SH101, DR660, MS1, PM16, TR33
Others: Korg MicroKontrol, ES-1, Alesis MMT8, Emu ESi2000 & card reader, BCR2000, V-Machine

Post Reply