Roland Gaia SH-01 vs. Korg R3 vs. Novation Ultranova

A forum for comparing two or more synths against each other. Also known as "versus" threads.
Post Reply
Antimatter
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 28, 2014 2:03 am

Roland Gaia SH-01 vs. Korg R3 vs. Novation Ultranova

Post by Antimatter » Wed May 28, 2014 7:43 am

Pros/Cons for each model:

Roland Gaia SH-01
Korg R3
Novation Ultranova

And how do they compare to each other?

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: Roland Gaia SH-01 vs. Korg R3 vs. Novation Ultranova

Post by Stab Frenzy » Wed May 28, 2014 7:48 am

Ultranova is a level above the other two in almost every respect.

Antimatter
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 28, 2014 2:03 am

Re: Roland Gaia SH-01 vs. Korg R3 vs. Novation Ultranova

Post by Antimatter » Wed May 28, 2014 7:59 am

Stab Frenzy wrote:Ultranova is a level above the other two in almost every respect.
I know the Ultranova has a vocoder and aftertouch and all that... just wondering, does it have a sequencer/playback mode too?

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: Roland Gaia SH-01 vs. Korg R3 vs. Novation Ultranova

Post by Stab Frenzy » Wed May 28, 2014 10:17 am

It has a very deep programmable arpeggiator which can function like a short sequencer.

User avatar
Re-Member
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 9:44 pm
Gear: Juno-60, SH-101, TR-606, JP-8000, MC-505, CZ-101, DX100, DX11, R3, microSTATION, Monotribe, MS-20 Mini, SQ-1, Volca Series, Minilogue, Moog Theremin
Location: PDX

Re: Roland Gaia SH-01 vs. Korg R3 vs. Novation Ultranova

Post by Re-Member » Thu May 29, 2014 12:12 am

The Ultranova is mono-timbral, so you can only play one sound at a time.

The Gaia's main synth engine is also mono-timbral, but then has General MIDI soundbank that can be triggered via MIDI.

The R3 uses two timbres per patch which can be split, stacked and controlled by different MIDI channels.

User avatar
madmarkmagee
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 416
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:18 am
Gear: King Korg
ESQ-1
Reface DX
Microbrute
Shruthi-1
Pittsburgh System-1
Juno 106 (needs work)
Location: Sydney

Re: Roland Gaia SH-01 vs. Korg R3 vs. Novation Ultranova

Post by madmarkmagee » Fri May 30, 2014 7:06 am

The Gaia also has a sequencer. The Gaia is monotimbral which means you could record say a brass patch into the sequencer as the bass, then play that back and play a lead with the same brass patch over that, but you could not use the brass patch for the bass, then play that back and do a string lead over that

Intrcptr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:04 am

Re: Roland Gaia SH-01 vs. Korg R3 vs. Novation Ultranova

Post by Intrcptr » Fri Dec 18, 2015 5:04 pm

The ultranova has so much going for it and at the prices they're going for now it represents a great value. $350-450. I expected to be using the vst editor to program it but I find the layout of the controls makes for very fast editing from the front panel.

thefonz003
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 9:20 pm
Real name: Matt
Gear: Yamaha SY77
Korg DSS-1
Yamaha DJX
Novation MiniNova
Electrix Warp Factory
Akai MPK225
Various Softsynths
E-mu Mo'Phatt (wanting to sell)
Location: Ohio, U.S.
Contact:

Re: Roland Gaia SH-01 vs. Korg R3 vs. Novation Ultranova

Post by thefonz003 » Tue Dec 22, 2015 5:59 pm

Also the Ultranova has light-up blue mod wheels, which I think are freakin' sweet for some reason. (I don't have one but would probably choose one over the other two. It seems more user-friendly and has a good variety of different sounds. It can be both a VA and a regular digital-ish polysynth.)

Post Reply