Old Roland Samplers (S Series, W-30, etc)

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.
User avatar
synthroom
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 876
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 3:16 pm
Real name: Kirk
Gear: Fairlight IIx(!), JP-8, D-50, S-50+550, S-760, JX-3P, JD-800, EII, Emax II, Mini, ARP 2600, P-5 Rev.1, Pro-One, Performer, K1m, K5m, few other things.
Location: pdx
Contact:

Re: Old Roland Samplers (S Series, W-30, etc)

Post by synthroom » Wed Apr 01, 2015 6:23 am

I've got an Apple CD-150 and a AppleCD-600e and neither of them have worked with the S-550 for me.

Are you using the Panasonic with an S-760 or S-550?
Fairlight IIx (Mid-Life Crisis - cheaper than a Corvette!)
Roland JP-8, D-50, S-50, S-550(2x), S-760(2x), JX-3P, JD-800
EII, Emax II, Minimoog, ARP 2600, P-5 Rev.1 (broken...), Pro-One, Crumar Performer, K1m, K5m, MS-2000B, Virus KC, a few other things.

max badwan
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 1:34 am
Real name: Max
Gear: T1, XV 5080, ES1, Zaquencer
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Old Roland Samplers (S Series, W-30, etc)

Post by max badwan » Wed Apr 01, 2015 6:40 am

synthroom wrote:I've got an Apple CD-150 and a AppleCD-600e and neither of them have worked with the S-550 for me.

Are you using the Panasonic with an S-760 or S-550?
I just re-read the question. Sorry, S-760 and XV-5080. From memory, there are only a dozen or so drives that work with the S-550, I recall seeing a short list somewhere. I think the W-30 has the same limited choice.

Calgonstudio
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 6:26 pm
Real name: Ric
Band: Client No7

Re: Old Roland Samplers (S Series, W-30, etc)

Post by Calgonstudio » Sat Apr 25, 2015 4:31 pm

I just picked up a S-550 last week, haven't had to the chance to use it, yet, but I do have a question, in the back there is an open space on mine, , some of the web pictures I've seen have a blank plate over top of this opening,
What is this space, Am I missing something? or is this space for some option card ?
Thanks
Ric

User avatar
synthroom
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 876
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 3:16 pm
Real name: Kirk
Gear: Fairlight IIx(!), JP-8, D-50, S-50+550, S-760, JX-3P, JD-800, EII, Emax II, Mini, ARP 2600, P-5 Rev.1, Pro-One, Performer, K1m, K5m, few other things.
Location: pdx
Contact:

Re: Old Roland Samplers (S Series, W-30, etc)

Post by synthroom » Sat Apr 25, 2015 9:42 pm

Ric - that's where the SCSI port for the SCSI add-on card mounts.
Fairlight IIx (Mid-Life Crisis - cheaper than a Corvette!)
Roland JP-8, D-50, S-50, S-550(2x), S-760(2x), JX-3P, JD-800
EII, Emax II, Minimoog, ARP 2600, P-5 Rev.1 (broken...), Pro-One, Crumar Performer, K1m, K5m, MS-2000B, Virus KC, a few other things.

Calgonstudio
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 6:26 pm
Real name: Ric
Band: Client No7

Re: Old Roland Samplers (S Series, W-30, etc)

Post by Calgonstudio » Fri May 15, 2015 1:35 pm

Ok I got the system disk for this S550, loaded the disk every thing seems ok, with the system load, then I loaded a Piano disk I have(a S550 disk) Tried to get sound out of the head phones( I did have it hooked up to a Alesis qs6 as a controller) but nothing , it's probably user era..

Calgonstudio
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 6:26 pm
Real name: Ric
Band: Client No7

Re: Old Roland Samplers (S Series, W-30, etc)

Post by Calgonstudio » Fri May 15, 2015 1:48 pm

I don't have it hooked to a CRT(or any type) of monitor, is that a problem? I was under the impression that I need the monitor if I'm going to edit sounds.

User avatar
synthroom
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 876
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 3:16 pm
Real name: Kirk
Gear: Fairlight IIx(!), JP-8, D-50, S-50+550, S-760, JX-3P, JD-800, EII, Emax II, Mini, ARP 2600, P-5 Rev.1, Pro-One, Performer, K1m, K5m, few other things.
Location: pdx
Contact:

Re: Old Roland Samplers (S Series, W-30, etc)

Post by synthroom » Fri May 15, 2015 2:57 pm

You don't need a monitor hooked up to run it, it just makes using it easier since you can see more data on the monitor than on the front panel display.

Is it receiving MIDI? Are you sending notes on the right midi channel? MIDI Out on the QS6 to MIDI In on the S550?Can you hear sound on any of the rear panel outputs?
Fairlight IIx (Mid-Life Crisis - cheaper than a Corvette!)
Roland JP-8, D-50, S-50, S-550(2x), S-760(2x), JX-3P, JD-800
EII, Emax II, Minimoog, ARP 2600, P-5 Rev.1 (broken...), Pro-One, Crumar Performer, K1m, K5m, MS-2000B, Virus KC, a few other things.

Calgonstudio
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 6:26 pm
Real name: Ric
Band: Client No7

Re: Old Roland Samplers (S Series, W-30, etc)

Post by Calgonstudio » Fri May 15, 2015 4:11 pm

[You don't need a monitor hooked up to run it, it just makes using it easier since you can see more data on the monitor than on the front panel display. ..........that's good to know.

Is it receiving MIDI? ..............................................................Yes. the Midi message light flashes when I hit a key.
Are you sending notes on the right midi channel?..........................Not sure have to check, I have the QS6 set to channel 1, but didn't try to change channel on the QS6.
MIDI Out on the QS6 to MIDI In on the S550?.................................Yes
Can you hear sound on any of the rear panel outputs?[/quote]..........Didn't try that I'll try the rear outputs this weekend.
Thanks

User avatar
synthRodriguez
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 372
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:46 pm
Real name: Scott
Gear: Moog - Roland - Yamaha
Location: Western Ohio

Re: Old Roland Samplers (S Series, W-30, etc)

Post by synthRodriguez » Sun May 17, 2015 5:36 pm

Lots of nice technical and model info in the thread. I've had lots of Roland gear, but never stuck my toe into the sampler waters.

Is there any reason to be using these machines these days other than a maybe having a few old sounds you want to retreive?

I've never played around much with sampling, but I have several synths that will. Is there something that the old Roland samplers bring to the table I'm missing?

Calgonstudio
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 6:26 pm
Real name: Ric
Band: Client No7

Re: Old Roland Samplers (S Series, W-30, etc)

Post by Calgonstudio » Sun May 17, 2015 6:14 pm

My deal is I wanted one when I was just out of High school couldn't afford it then, And I just want to play with it and see what I can create.I just want a certain 90s feel to some of the music I'm writing now....that and I'm an old school mixer guy, the DAW is only for editing other peoples mistakes in my studio.
I have heard people say the drums sound "grity"

User avatar
iphoenix
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 9:49 am
Real name: Paul
Location: Ireland

Re: Old Roland Samplers (S Series, W-30, etc)

Post by iphoenix » Tue May 19, 2015 8:21 am

scottrod wrote:Lots of nice technical and model info in the thread. I've had lots of Roland gear, but never stuck my toe into the sampler waters.

Is there any reason to be using these machines these days other than a maybe having a few old sounds you want to retreive?

I've never played around much with sampling, but I have several synths that will. Is there something that the old Roland samplers bring to the table I'm missing?
Ive used a few of them , W30, S50, (still use an MV8000), but I like the sound of the W30 & S50, it just sounds nice & 'musical'. Im most experienced with the W30 & just enjoy the sound of it, but not saving samples or making patches, that is awkward & not made easy, by my experience. Still haven't got my S760 yet, but people who 've used them (S700 series)love them, especially the sound & filters. Apparently the filters on the S700 series are the same as the filters on the JD800 & JD990.

Calgonstudio
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 6:26 pm
Real name: Ric
Band: Client No7

Re: Old Roland Samplers (S Series, W-30, etc)

Post by Calgonstudio » Sat Aug 29, 2015 4:57 pm

Still haven't got my S760 yet,



Did you get thes760 yet?
How do you like it?

User avatar
iphoenix
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 9:49 am
Real name: Paul
Location: Ireland

Re: Old Roland Samplers (S Series, W-30, etc)

Post by iphoenix » Tue Sep 01, 2015 6:23 am

No I still havnt got it! Its quite a trek & collection only . Its going to be this month for sure, the guy is holding it for me, which is kind of him & no pressure.

User avatar
moremagic
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 314
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 9:29 am
Real name: A.M.
Gear: electribe er-1, sp-303, sp-404sx, s612, nuo 2, sl-1200 mk ii, beatstep, eurorack, tb-03, vx-99
Location: nc

Re: Old Roland Samplers (S Series, W-30, etc)

Post by moremagic » Sun Nov 01, 2015 5:01 am

scottrod wrote:Lots of nice technical and model info in the thread. I've had lots of Roland gear, but never stuck my toe into the sampler waters.

Is there any reason to be using these machines these days other than a maybe having a few old sounds you want to retreive?

I've never played around much with sampling, but I have several synths that will. Is there something that the old Roland samplers bring to the table I'm missing?
idk about the good ones, but the s10 is fun because its got an arpeggiator (that doesnt MIDI idkwtf), but setting it to random and triggering 4 different samples in a random order is a thing i like. fun with variations, like 4 different snare hits

Post Reply