Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem - (resolved)

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.
Post Reply
part12studios
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:39 am

Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem - (resolved)

Post by part12studios » Fri Feb 24, 2017 1:56 am

Hi there,

I got my hands on an S2800 that a friend of mine couldn't fix and I did some research and think I have some idea of what the problem but would like some confirmed input.

The system boots up with the SCSI Card (it's an optional card, not built in).. Below is the same problem where it says

"waiting for hard disk ready skip" and hangs. No buttons work. If I remove the card the unit boots up fine.

The article below mentions a bad fuse.. but this isn't the same hardware. I'm wondering if the fuse on my card is the SF1 thing.. i've never seen a fuse look like this, but I'm not electronics expert.

https://www.gearslutz.com/board/geekslu ... blems.html

here is what the card looks like:

Image

I'd like to see if I can bring this guy back.

Thanks,
Caleb
Last edited by part12studios on Sun Mar 12, 2017 1:39 am, edited 2 times in total.

JeEA
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem (waiting for disk)

Post by JeEA » Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:27 am

That is correct that's the one
Had same problem changed the fuse, but still no luck.

Hope yours Will work. You Can check it. I do not know
if You have to take it out first. Nomally a working
fuse Will allow voltage over the fuse, so a voltmeter
and meassure resistance over the fuse should indicate 000 In the
display.

Cheers

part12studios
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:39 am

Re: Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem (waiting for disk)

Post by part12studios » Fri Feb 24, 2017 2:13 pm

Awesome thanks JeEA for the confirmation! I am soldering iron-less at the moment but i will get one soon but I do want to test the part!

Thanks!
Caleb

part12studios
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:39 am

Re: Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem (waiting for disk)

Post by part12studios » Fri Feb 24, 2017 3:06 pm

does anyone know what the part is? I'm not sure if that is some standard "fuse" or what to call it..

i put a multimeter on both points and no energy got through.. so it seems safe to say the fuse is bad, though more may be wrong since something made the fuse pop.

JeEA
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem - fuse trouble

Post by JeEA » Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:41 am

It's a keramik fuse i Think. It's standard In an electronic store
Try to Google scsi fuse.
Cheers
Jens

part12studios
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:39 am

Re: Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem - fuse trouble

Post by part12studios » Sat Feb 25, 2017 2:15 pm

Awesome thanks! I'll do that :)

Thanks!
Caleb

User avatar
sneakthief
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 9:43 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem - fuse trouble

Post by sneakthief » Sat Feb 25, 2017 4:59 pm

sneak-thief: raw electrofunk!
http://sneak-thief.com

part12studios
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:39 am

Re: Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem - fuse trouble

Post by part12studios » Sat Feb 25, 2017 5:06 pm

that is superb! I'm definitely going to go that route. I'd like to future proof the unit from having to solder yet again.. of course i hope the problem isn't bigger than the fuse but i'm optimistic.

part12studios
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:39 am

Re: Akai S2800 SCSI fuse problem - resolved

Post by part12studios » Sun Mar 12, 2017 1:39 am

Hi everyone.

I am happy to report that the fuse was in fact the issue for mine and the unit is working. The fuse was replaced with a different but basically the same 1amp fuse. Thanks for the information!

Now to find a manual. Havin a h**l of a time figuring out how to record a sample.. worried it might have something wrong with it in that respect.. but without a manual I can't be sure

Thanks,
Caleb

JeEA
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem - (resolved)

Post by JeEA » Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:00 am

S2000 or 3000 manual should help.
After sampling the sounds must be mapped to the kbd.
Would have been Nice with a sampling template

part12studios
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:39 am

Re: Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem - (resolved)

Post by part12studios » Tue Mar 14, 2017 3:46 pm

yes I learned that the S3000XL manual on akai's website is the closest to the S2800.. so i was able to figure out things for the most part.. but yea seems the input of my S2800 is bad.. bad digital clipping. Probably just part it out now..

Post Reply