Akai ASQ10/MPC60 Floppy Disk Image (HxC)

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.

Akai ASQ10/MPC60 Floppy Disk Image (HxC)

Postby Cecil Dubreque » Sun May 07, 2017 11:36 pm

Has anyone else successfully managed to get an HxC floppy emulator working in an MPC60 or an ASQ10?

I have a Gotek drive but even using Omniflop I'm struggling to get a disk image that the ASQ10 recognized.

I've already been digging through existing forum posts and guides for days with no luck.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Cecil Dubreque
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 10:32 pm

Re: Akai ASQ10/MPC60 Floppy Disk Image (HxC)

Postby Rasputin » Mon May 08, 2017 1:01 am

I'll ask the painfully obvious and possibly insulting yet necessary question. Is it a flashed Gotek or a stock Gotek? Because you're not going to get anywhere with a run-of-the-mill Gotek.
Rasputin
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:52 am

Re: Akai ASQ10/MPC60 Floppy Disk Image (HxC)

Postby Cecil Dubreque » Mon May 08, 2017 8:27 pm

It is indeed HxC flashed.

The actual install is obviously very simple. I just can't seem to find a working disk image or manage to get a working one using Omniflop on an old XP PC.
Cecil Dubreque
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 10:32 pm

Re: Akai ASQ10/MPC60 Floppy Disk Image (HxC)

Postby Rasputin » Tue May 09, 2017 7:50 am

I don't have specific experience with HxC meets MPC60, but... I've messed with Omniflop and HxC/HFE stuff quite a bit so I would suggest reading a known-good Akai floppy with Omniflop in an XP desktop with internal floppy drive (I'm assuming that's what you're doing, but it needed to be specified, just in case).

In Omniflop, have it auto-detect the format. It should detect some Akai 793K style disk. Good, save that as a raw image.

Load the HxC software and import a RAW image and make sure the format is IBM MFM, double-sided, 80 tracks, 512 sector size, and 10 sectors per track. It should be the usual 300 RPM / 250000 bitrate that just about everything else is.

Make sure your interface is Generic Shugart. See where that gets you.
Rasputin
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:52 am

Re: Akai ASQ10/MPC60 Floppy Disk Image (HxC)

Postby Cecil Dubreque » Tue May 09, 2017 8:21 pm

Thanks for the tips!

I'll try that exact method and see how it goes.
Cecil Dubreque
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 10:32 pm

Re: Akai ASQ10/MPC60 Floppy Disk Image (HxC)

Postby Cecil Dubreque » Thu May 11, 2017 11:50 am

I followed your advice and seemed to get a good disk image but still couldn't get the drive to work.

I then tried inserting the data cable upside down and bingo!

Thanks for your help.
Cecil Dubreque
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 10:32 pm

Re: Akai ASQ10/MPC60 Floppy Disk Image (HxC)

Postby chillyD » Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:28 am

I, too, can confirm that I have had success in retrofitting an Akai ASQ-10 with an HxC-flashed Gotek floppy emulator. Since getting to that point required hunting around this forum along with a fair amount of Googling and trial-and-error, I'm including the key steps that got it to work for me.

Getting the HxC-flashed drive to work required the following:
1. Move the jumper on the Gotek drive from S1 to S0 (i.e. S1 open, S0 closed). If this was not done, the ASQ-10 would report that the disk was write-protected when attempting to perform a write or format operation.

2. Connect the floppy cable to the Gotek drive with the center nub facing the top of the drive (this is referred to as "upside down" in a previous post). I found that if I did not do this, the green LED was lit solid and the ASQ-10 would act as if no disk was present.

I was able to successfully load and use one of the ready-made MPC60mkII disk images available on the HxC site (DSKA0000.HFE) to get a disk image the ASQ-10 could read and write. Once I established this, I selected the disk image, then performed a format using option 5 from the Disk menu to produce an empty ASQ-10 disk. I find it likely that the MPC-60mkII image would work just fine. I just took the extra format step as a precaution.
chillyD
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:09 am


Return to HELP!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DLovas and 6 guests