Tube amps, no aux-in or headset-out!

Discussions on sound production outside the synthesizer such as mixing, processing, recording, editing and mastering.

Tube amps, no aux-in or headset-out!

Postby Wines » Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:55 am

I'm about to get my first all tube guitar amp which has neither of these useful extra ports. I need to hear both the backing track and the guitar "as output by the amp" while recording only the latter (the BT gets recombined after). How do some of you do this?
Last edited by Wines on Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
Wines
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:26 am

Re: Tube amps, no aux-in or headset-out!

Postby meatballfulton » Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:30 pm

Recording to what, computer, hardware recorder?

You go retro: mike the amp's speaker, listen through headphones connected to the recorder playing the mix of backing track and guitar together. If you need to record silently, then you have a problem ;)

The reason most tube amps lack the connections is because it would require additional solid state circuitry to do so.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.
User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5662
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Live 9, Logic Pro X

Re: Tube amps, no aux-in or headset-out!

Postby ninja6485 » Wed Jan 16, 2019 3:52 pm

Yup. We used to mic the amp, arm the track the mic was connected to, then listen to everything through headphones.
This looks like a psychotropic reaction. No wonder it's so popular...
User avatar
ninja6485
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
 
Posts: 2757
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:13 pm
Location: Exton/ westchester
Gear: Virus Ti, Jx-8p, Juno 60, Radias, Maschine, 101,303,606,707,727,808,909, odyssey, mirage, akai s5K/s2K/s1k, drumtraks, E6400ult, M1R, rx5, fizmo,d50
Band: Lyra, The Sun Worshipers


Return to Sound Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests