Good midi-to-cv interfaces? (that aren't too expensive)

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
Cirrus Winery
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 3:17 pm

Good midi-to-cv interfaces? (that aren't too expensive)

Post by Cirrus Winery » Thu Mar 06, 2008 12:40 am

Encore has the Expressionist that looks fantastic (but the price is not so fantastic (600 usd)). Doepfer has a small one with aftertouch/pitch/velocity support and that'll work well with my controller keyboard but what i'm really interested in is being able to somehow have duophonic support from the same keyboard which is not possible with the doepfer model. From what i understand the Encore converter DOES seem to support that, though.

Intended use is with a dotcom system.

User avatar
tyrannosaurus mark
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 581
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 11:10 am

Post by tyrannosaurus mark » Thu Mar 06, 2008 12:51 am

Kenton pro solo?
Moog LP + Casio SK1 and MT-75 + tube amp = good tone.

User avatar
wiss
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2141
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:03 pm
Gear: .com, mpc, and a studio full of behringer clones.
Location: Chicago

Post by wiss » Thu Mar 06, 2008 4:54 am

novation basstation rack...I m not sure about douphonic, I know midi message are poly..
"All we used was the explosion and the orchestra hit. The Fairlight was a $100,000 waste of space."

User avatar
cornutt
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2117
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:03 am
Gear: 6th
Location: Rocket City USA
Contact:

Post by cornutt » Thu Mar 06, 2008 5:05 am

Well, for really inexpensive, provided you have some DIY skills:

* Synhaus Midijack
* PAIA MIDI2CV8
Switches, knobs, buttons, LEDs, LCD screens, monitors, keys, mice, jacks, sockets. Now two joysticks!

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6150
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Logic Pro X

Post by meatballfulton » Thu Mar 06, 2008 4:02 pm

Pro Solo doesn't support duophonic CV.

The PAiA does and is the only low cost solution. You of course have to build it, but it's not that complicated.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

Cirrus Winery
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 3:17 pm

Post by Cirrus Winery » Thu Mar 06, 2008 6:12 pm

meatballfulton wrote:Pro Solo doesn't support duophonic CV.

The PAiA does and is the only low cost solution. You of course have to build it, but it's not that complicated.
How does the duophony (?) work on the PAiA model? Highest and lowest go to separate CV out? The documentation mentions separate channels, but doesn't that mean i'd need two keyboards? (one for each channel)

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6150
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Logic Pro X

Post by meatballfulton » Thu Mar 06, 2008 7:58 pm

Cirrus Winery wrote:[How does the duophony (?) work on the PAiA model?
Two sets of CV/gates which alternate as you play on a single MIDI channel. Patch the pitch CVs to two VCOs and the gate CVs to two EGs.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5453
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Wurlitzer Opus 1536, Model F, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Post by madtheory » Thu Mar 06, 2008 8:09 pm

Or to quote Paia:
"rotational assignment of data from one midi channel"

http://www.paia.com/midi2cv.asp

Cirrus Winery
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 3:17 pm

Post by Cirrus Winery » Fri Mar 07, 2008 12:25 am

meatballfulton wrote:
Cirrus Winery wrote:[How does the duophony (?) work on the PAiA model?
Two sets of CV/gates which alternate as you play on a single MIDI channel. Patch the pitch CVs to two VCOs and the gate CVs to two EGs.
That's so logical i don't know why i didn't think of it. Thanks. I'll be getting one of these things then.

Post Reply