Yamaha A4000 Card Reader?

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.
Post Reply
User avatar
Silverfish
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:47 am
Real name: Tyler
Band: Silverfish
Location: Calgary, AB
Contact:

Yamaha A4000 Card Reader?

Post by Silverfish » Sat Apr 27, 2013 6:49 am

Hey everyone-

I recently picked up a Yamaha A4000 sampler. It has a zip disk drive installed, and I'm really not a fan of zip disks. Can the A4000 use a standard IDE card reader, or does it have to be SCSI?

thanks for your help!

Stafftunes
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 3:46 pm
Real name: Staff
Gear: Jupiter 6, JX-3P, Nord Rack 2, Blofeld, TX81z,JV2080, RY30, A4000, SK30 + Misc stuff
Band: Stafftunes
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Yamaha A4000 Card Reader?

Post by Stafftunes » Tue Apr 30, 2013 3:54 pm

I'm not 100% sure to be honest. There was some mention on the old A4000/5000 yahoo group about it, I think you needed an ide/scsi convertor so you could use an IDE reader with the Scsi interface. This gave me the impression at the time that ide card readers wouldn't work on the A4k's ide interface. I could be wrong.

I been waiting/searching/trying for years to sort out a card reader for my A4k, the hdd I got in there right now is noisey as h**l.

I love my A4k, so very tweakable, it's great.

User avatar
b3groover
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:41 am
Real name: Jim
Band: THEO
Location: Lansing, MI
Contact:

Re: Yamaha A4000 Card Reader?

Post by b3groover » Tue Apr 30, 2013 6:54 pm

It needs to be SCSI. They are available on eBay now and again. I have a compact flash SCSI card reader installed on my EX5r. Far superior than ZIP.

Paul Dorrough
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 5:33 pm

Re: Yamaha A4000 Card Reader?

Post by Paul Dorrough » Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:43 pm

Theoretically you should be able to substitute an IDE card reader in place of the ZIP drive however, Yamaha series samplers were designed to support floppy\zip technology and may not recognize a card reader, however I’d be curious to know if it works. I use Sound Forge 7.0 to transfer samples via SMDI from my PC to the A4000. This set-up only works in Windows XP…Vista, Win7, 8.1 & 10 don’t support the ASPI layer required for SCSI to communicate with the sampler... it only generates an error message that reads “SCSI adapter or sampler is set to none”

Set the Yamaha A4000 to SCSI I.D 1 - SCSI PCI card automatically defaults to 7 – in ‘Utility” turn off the A4000 bulk protect and you’re set.

clockdivider2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:25 am

Re: Yamaha A4000 Card Reader?

Post by clockdivider2 » Sat Dec 23, 2017 9:56 pm

Yes it's doable, easy and cheap with a $3 IDE reader. The magic key for me was a 4gb Transcend 133x card from ebay; an old 256mb CF card did NOT work. Details here:

https://www.gearslutz.com/board/showpos ... stcount=28

Now can anyone here explain why my A4000 hangs and needs to be power cycled when I try to scroll through the effects? [edit: reloading the OS from floppy fixed the hang.]

albionpatterns
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 5:51 am

Re: Yamaha A4000 Card Reader?

Post by albionpatterns » Wed Jan 20, 2021 4:24 pm

Did anyone in this thread have any joy with getting their IDE-CF reader to work?

I have installed a Startech IDE-CF 3.5" Drive in my A4000 and Using a Sandisk 512mb card AND also Transcend 4gb card it can be 'seen' by the sampler in the DISK > VOLUME menu.. It can also be mounted there and saved to after formatting....

But the main reaosn I wanted the CF drive was to be able to format to FAT32 and be able to move WAVs and programs to and from my sampler from the computer, This is one task I havent been able to yet.

Did anyone get theres working? Martin78 says he has on his blog: http://martin78.com/samplers/yamaha-a4000-a5000/

And I have used his setup as my guide.. He says that the Yamaha will import from FAT32 media.

I remember having this same nightmare when I installed a card reader into my MPC2000XL, Why do we do this to ourselves? LOL

Please help if anyone managed to get it sorted, Otherwise ignore this dead thread :)

AEP

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3910
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V
Location: Central VA

Re: Yamaha A4000 Card Reader?

Post by Ashe37 » Wed Jan 20, 2021 4:30 pm

try connecting it to the PC and formatting it there?

Post Reply