New analog Arturia synth?

Discussions about anything analog, digital, MIDI, synth technology, techniques, theories and more.
Post Reply
Aaron2
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 5:18 am
Real name: Aaron
Gear: Pioneer: Toraiz SP-16
Elektron: AK, AR, MnM, MD, OT
DSI: Evolver, MEK, P08, Pro2
Korg: Arp Odyssey
Waldorf: Blofeld Keyboard
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by Aaron2 » Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:28 pm

pflosi wrote:And no DIN midi out... :(
I think that's in keeping with the Volca-esque character of the machine. Only the bare essentials here. Which is too bad, really, because it would be terrific if you could use the sequencer to play other synths via MIDI.

Aaron2
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 5:18 am
Real name: Aaron
Gear: Pioneer: Toraiz SP-16
Elektron: AK, AR, MnM, MD, OT
DSI: Evolver, MEK, P08, Pro2
Korg: Arp Odyssey
Waldorf: Blofeld Keyboard
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by Aaron2 » Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:28 pm

Does the Micro run on batteries? In the teaser video, it's being played on a train, so I assume it does. Or do you have electrical outlets on the trains in Europe? :lol:

User avatar
yorgatron
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 4:57 pm
Gear: ARP Axxe
ARP Omni I
Korg Poly-61
Korg MS-10
Korg Mini-Korg 700
Elka X-55
RMI 300A
Wurlitzer 206A
Hohner Clavinet/Pianet Duo
Casio XW-P1
Band: Asha-Med

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by yorgatron » Thu Oct 24, 2013 1:06 am

Dr. Phibes wrote:Good to see they've listened to the public and done something about the minibrute's unwieldy size.
:lol:

what's that other synth she's playing on stage, Polysix?

User avatar
megamanx
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 838
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 4:39 am
Gear: nord lead2, roland sh101, yamaha cs5,mono/poly, sub37,Ms20, Chroma polaris,prodigy, esq-1, jx3p
Band: Thieves & Co.

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by megamanx » Thu Oct 24, 2013 1:20 am

mono/poly

User avatar
Kenneth
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 328
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 12:57 am
Real name: Kenneth
Gear: Nothing I own will make you jealous.
Band: KGB
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by Kenneth » Thu Oct 24, 2013 4:33 am

Seems really convenient, but I really don't like the character of the Brutes. Just too shrill and brittle for my tastes. I'm going with the Volcas.
Comparison is the thief of joy.

User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3620
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Gear: more than 150 characters...
Location: zürich
Contact:

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by pflosi » Thu Oct 24, 2013 6:52 am

Aaron2 wrote:Does the Micro run on batteries? In the teaser video, it's being played on a train, so I assume it does. Or do you have electrical outlets on the trains in Europe? :lol:
Actually, we do.

User avatar
spookyman
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 7:13 am
Gear: cheezy machines and some cheap analog stuff
Location: Jura, Switzerland

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by spookyman » Thu Oct 24, 2013 7:23 am

megamanx wrote:mono/poly
I thought it was a Korg Delta ?
It is much easier to be a good equipment purchaser than to be a great musician.

User avatar
Psy_Free
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 6:36 pm
Gear: Synths 'n' stuff.
Band: Klangzeit
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by Psy_Free » Thu Oct 24, 2013 8:07 am

spookyman wrote:
megamanx wrote:mono/poly
I thought it was a Korg Delta ?
It is a Delta.

Good to see the Microbrute isn't a VA after all :) (what was the score with that earlier link posted rabbitting on about TAE ??)
"Any noise is good. For what is a different matter"
Bandcamp 1
Bandcamp 2
Soundcloud

User avatar
megamanx
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 838
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 4:39 am
Gear: nord lead2, roland sh101, yamaha cs5,mono/poly, sub37,Ms20, Chroma polaris,prodigy, esq-1, jx3p
Band: Thieves & Co.

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by megamanx » Thu Oct 24, 2013 12:59 pm

yep delta, my bad...

User avatar
spookyman
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 7:13 am
Gear: cheezy machines and some cheap analog stuff
Location: Jura, Switzerland

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by spookyman » Thu Oct 24, 2013 2:15 pm

Aaron2 wrote:
pflosi wrote:And no DIN midi out... :(
I think that's in keeping with the Volca-esque character of the machine. Only the bare essentials here. Which is too bad, really, because it would be terrific if you could use the sequencer to play other synths via MIDI.
It has midi over usb, it's better than nothing. But of course, not the best solution if you want to use the sequencer to play synth that has only a 5pin midi-in.

But you have CV/Gate outputs, so you can play analog modules that have CV/Gate In connections.
It is much easier to be a good equipment purchaser than to be a great musician.

User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3620
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Gear: more than 150 characters...
Location: zürich
Contact:

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by pflosi » Thu Oct 24, 2013 3:41 pm

^ Yeah but I need a small midikeyboard (normal power not that USB stuff with DIN midi plug) anyways to input notes into my sequencer - the Microbrute would have been perfect to do that and then some more. There's no midi keyboard this small that has a standard power connector and DIN midi, only this newfangled USB stuff... Would have been two birds with one stone for me... And no, I'm not gonna plug a computer in between just for a midi out...

Microbrute looks cool nevertheless, now the thing that will determine everything for me is how the sequencer works. If it's near the coolness of the SH101 sequencer I might get it even just for that...

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5824
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Logic Pro X

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by meatballfulton » Thu Oct 24, 2013 4:08 pm

pflosi wrote:There's no midi keyboard this small that has a standard power connector and DIN midi, only this newfangled USB stuff...
So buy used. Or get one of those idiotic Kenton boxes for $100

Image
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3620
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Gear: more than 150 characters...
Location: zürich
Contact:

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by pflosi » Thu Oct 24, 2013 6:08 pm

Used? Problem is don't know for sure what to buy (best match I found so far is Alesis Q25) ;) Kenton box looks good though, didn't know that. Bit pricey of course.

Anyway, back to the Microbrute gents :hi:

Kidney05
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 5:34 am
Gear: Juno 106, Tetra, Mopho Keyboard, Little Phatty Stage II, RX-5, Volcas, JX-3P, R5, 505, TX-7, D550, TX81Z, Korg MS-20 Mini, Minibrute, Six Traks, TR-8
Contact:

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by Kidney05 » Thu Oct 24, 2013 8:52 pm

Kenneth wrote:Seems really convenient, but I really don't like the character of the Brutes. Just too shrill and brittle for my tastes. I'm going with the Volcas.
Image

Aaron2
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 5:18 am
Real name: Aaron
Gear: Pioneer: Toraiz SP-16
Elektron: AK, AR, MnM, MD, OT
DSI: Evolver, MEK, P08, Pro2
Korg: Arp Odyssey
Waldorf: Blofeld Keyboard
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: New analog Arturia synth?

Post by Aaron2 » Thu Oct 24, 2013 9:58 pm

:agree:

Post Reply