Wanted: Line6 POD Pro EPROM / Firmware

The place for parts & services: Modifications, Spare Parts and Repair Services, Sample Packs, Accessories.
Forum rules
This forum follows the same rules outlined in Gear For Sale Rules and Guidelines

Moderators have the right to edit your posts to keep them within the framework of these rules.
Post Reply
Rasputin
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 744
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:52 am

Wanted: Line6 POD Pro EPROM / Firmware

Post by Rasputin » Thu Jan 12, 2017 7:18 am

Okay, I know this is VSE and not a guitar forum.... however, I know there are a lot of audio hounds with EPROM readers floating around these parts, so it's worth the inquiry.

I'm looking for version v1.0, 1.1, and/or especially 1.3 (the last released) of the POD Pro firmware either in binary/hex or the actual chip. I already have 1.2, so I don't need it, but I can supply it to anyone looking for it.

cnpcnp
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 12:07 pm

Re: Wanted: Line6 POD Pro EPROM / Firmware

Post by cnpcnp » Wed May 02, 2018 12:13 pm

Hello,

I have a Pod Pro with v1.0 EPROM, would like to upgrade to the latest v1.3 as well.
At least I assume it'd be good to step up from the v1.0 version.
It's not clear to me which changes have been made... model tweaks and/or bugfixes I assume.
No idea if also functionality has been added for the Pod Pro with those increasing versions.

OK, so let's see if we can help each other:

I'm interested in the v1.2 and if I can get hold of an EPROM-interface I can send you the v1.0

Were you able to get hold of v1.3 meanwhile ?

Thanks / Bye!

cnpcnp
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 12:07 pm

Re: Wanted: Line6 POD Pro EPROM / Firmware

Post by cnpcnp » Wed May 02, 2018 12:16 pm

BTW, eprom is a 27512, correct ?

Thanks!

Rasputin
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 744
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:52 am

Re: Wanted: Line6 POD Pro EPROM / Firmware

Post by Rasputin » Wed May 02, 2018 3:55 pm

cnpcnp wrote:I have a Pod Pro with v1.0 EPROM, would like to upgrade to the latest v1.3 as well. At least I assume it'd be good to step up from the v1.0 version.
It's not clear to me which changes have been made... model tweaks and/or bugfixes I assume.
No idea if also functionality has been added for the Pod Pro with those increasing versions.

I'm interested in the v1.2 and if I can get hold of an EPROM-interface I can send you the v1.0

Were you able to get hold of v1.3 meanwhile ?
Deal. PM sent.

Even though later versions are seen as "upgrades", the modelling algorithms were tweaked throughout the revisions, so they aren't just bug fixes. Therefore, some people prefer the sound of different versions over others, so I want to get every revision so that people can pick and choose.

And no, still haven't found 1.3 yet, so 1.2 is the last version I have.

cnpcnp
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 12:07 pm

Re: Wanted: Line6 POD Pro EPROM / Firmware

Post by cnpcnp » Wed May 02, 2018 5:03 pm

Hi,

Thanks for the response, much appreciated!

I see, good to know - so there's actually no stuff that needs repairing/debugged when still at v1.0.

Did Line6 document somewhere which changes they actually made which the models ?
That might be the fun of it, perceiving changes in a certain model while it actually wasn't tweaked ;)

Thanks for the PM, more RE there.

Bye!

Rasputin
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 744
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:52 am

Re: Wanted: Line6 POD Pro EPROM / Firmware

Post by Rasputin » Wed May 02, 2018 5:57 pm

cnpcnp wrote:Did Line6 document somewhere which changes they actually made which the models ?
That might be the fun of it, perceiving changes in a certain model while it actually wasn't tweaked ;)
As far as I know, all the newer firmware updates (all but the standard POD v1.0, maybe) are specified as EPROMs of type "W27E010 32-pin 1M 128kx8 70ns", but I've seen AMD Am27c010 in the Bass POD, so really anything equivalent should be fine. The old POD v1.0 used W27E512-70, but will still use the larger 1M chips without any hardware modification necessary. The higher capacity chip is still a drop-in replacement.

Fixes I'm aware of:

AFAIK, changes for POD 2.x are identical to POD Pro 1.x, such as that POD Pro running 1.2 will now have the same changes that the standard POD 2.2 has.

- Bass POD v1.2 fixes when the unit appears to power up but will not initialize.

- POD Version 1.x differences from POD version 2.0
4 More amp models - line6 twang,crunch# 2, Blues, and insane.
Can access all 32 amp models from the front panel - without midi.
With Tap Tempo held down the following dials change:
Drive - Distortion (on/off)
Bass - Delay feedback
Middle - Delay Level
Treble - Presence boost (on/off)
Channel Volume - Drive Boost (on/off)
Reverb - Reverb Decay
Effect Tweak - Tap Tempo Speed
Amp Models - Other 16 amp models
Effect - Cab Models

[*]The Marshall off axis cab sim went away and was replaced with Marshall w/greenbacks.

[*]Amp and effects customization feature was added:

[*]Ability to store your favorite settings for amps and effects, so that next time you turn the dial, they are how you like them.

Set an amp model how you like it (or effect).
Hold down save and Tap Tempo (Manual, Tap Tempo, A, and B start to flash)
Hit (A) to save the amp settings. And ( B) to save save the effects setting.
Next time you move to that amp/effect it will be set how you like it.
Does not work in manual mode.

POD can be "tuned" to work with different amp setups
Hold down SAVE while powering up
Press UP and DOWN to select:
A - POD feeding Power amp and closed back cab.
B - POD feeding Power amp and open back cab
C - POD in front of combo/head and open back cab
D - POD in front of combo /head and closed back cab

- POD version 2.1 is different from 2.2
Latch mode was added.
Hold down Tap Tempo and Manual at the same time for about 3 seconds.
Tap tempo will flash slowly on older POD's.
There is no visual indication of Latch mode on newer (v 2.54) FBV compatible PODs.

[*]All dials act as if you are holding down Tap Tempo.

[*]Press Tap Tempo one more time to disengage Latch Mode.

[*]Delay spill-over was removed to allow latch mode.

When you switch patches, your delay will not carry over, it turns off.

- POD version 2.2 is different from 2.3
Some amp models were slightly changed, most noticeably the Marshall sims.
Some cab models were changed.

"The Pod 2.3 firmware upgrade includes recoded cabinet models as well as a few amp models. In addition, we added some test routines and addressed a minor bug or two. You should notice a little more detail, clarity, and presence in your tone because of these enhancements. The newer FBV version of the POD 2.0 will show 2.54 when checking EPROM, but these units are not upgradeable via EPROM chip."

LAST REVISIONS

POD: V2.3
POD Pro: V1.3
Bass Pod: V1.5
Bass Pod Pro: V1.4

cnpcnp
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 12:07 pm

Re: Wanted: Line6 POD Pro EPROM / Firmware

Post by cnpcnp » Wed May 02, 2018 9:35 pm

Thanks for adding this to this thread, good reference!

mnemonic
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 1:53 pm

Re: Wanted: Line6 POD Pro EPROM / Firmware

Post by mnemonic » Thu Jan 24, 2019 1:57 pm

Did any of you guys find a 1.3 eprom or the file for the Pod Pro?

I’m looking for one for my newly-acquired Pod Pro, which has the 1.2 eprom in it. I’m trying to transition to full-rack setup but my old Pod 2.0 bean with 2.3 eprom sounds better :(

Apparently the EPROMs are also not compatible between the beans and the rack units so you can’t just swap them.

Rasputin
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 744
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:52 am

Re: Wanted: Line6 POD Pro EPROM / Firmware

Post by Rasputin » Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:16 am

mnemonic wrote:Did any of you guys find a 1.3 eprom or the file for the Pod Pro?

I’m looking for one for my newly-acquired Pod Pro, which has the 1.2 eprom in it. I’m trying to transition to full-rack setup but my old Pod 2.0 bean with 2.3 eprom sounds better :(

Apparently the EPROMs are also not compatible between the beans and the rack units so you can’t just swap them.
Nope, still no 1.3 POD Pro binary anywhere. And no one has come back to this thread with anything new either.

And no, you can't swap EPROMs between the versions, although I *do* have v2.2 for the bean, if you want to downgrade to match the rack model :)

As for the bean version sounding better:

I'm not entirely sure this is due to the EPROM revision. I think the bean sounds better as well, and I think it may actually be because of the hardware itself. The POD Pro has an internal transformer which can lead to noise (as opposed to the external transformer of the bean) and I think that while technically the POD Pro has better specs, I'm not sure that leads to an aesthetically more pleasing sound.

I've never been totally happy with the POD Pro, whereas the normal bean POD sounded good to me regardless of the launch model (v1.0) or the latest v2.3. <shrug>

z.onichi
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2019 9:50 am

Re: Wanted: Line6 POD Pro EPROM / Firmware

Post by z.onichi » Sat Oct 12, 2019 9:51 am

I managed to get the 1.3 chip

But bean still sounds much better version 2.1

Rasputin
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 744
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:52 am

Re: Wanted: Line6 POD Pro EPROM / Firmware

Post by Rasputin » Sun Oct 13, 2019 3:01 pm

z.onichi wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 9:51 am
I managed to get the 1.3 chip
but bean still sounds much better version 2.1
Are you in a position to post the ROM binary? It would be very welcome.

And I agree that the bean has always sounded better, but that's a matter of taste, I suppose.

Post Reply