Novation Supernova 2 issue

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
Behnam
Newbie
Newbie
Posts:3
Joined:Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:14 pm
Novation Supernova 2 issue

Post by Behnam » Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:18 pm

Hi all,

i hope this is the correct area to post, apologies if not.

i have just got down my SuperNova 2 from my mums attic (been up there for about 10 years!!). it was all fine when i stored it. however, now when i turn it on i just get all thes flashes lights and nothing happens. have a look at the youtube video.

[YOUTUBE] [/YOUTUBE]

Does anyone have any idea what this could be and how i could fix it? i have contacted Novation and they asked me to send it to them. It does seem exspensive though which i undertsand but thought i'd post here first.

Many thanks,

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts:3937
Joined:Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name:Unpronounceable
Gear:Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band:Eridani V
Location:Central VA

Re: Novation Supernova 2 issue

Post by Ashe37 » Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:53 pm

you need to make the video not private.

Behnam
Newbie
Newbie
Posts:3
Joined:Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:14 pm

Re: Novation Supernova 2 issue

Post by Behnam » Tue Oct 29, 2019 9:50 pm

Ashe37 wrote:
Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:53 pm
you need to make the video not private.
Thanks for the heads up, hopefully you can see this video now?

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts:3937
Joined:Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name:Unpronounceable
Gear:Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band:Eridani V
Location:Central VA

Re: Novation Supernova 2 issue

Post by Ashe37 » Tue Oct 29, 2019 10:57 pm

Behnam wrote:
Tue Oct 29, 2019 9:50 pm
Ashe37 wrote:
Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:53 pm
you need to make the video not private.
Thanks for the heads up, hopefully you can see this video now?
yes, it works now. IS there a hard reset procedure for the supernova 2? has its internal battery died?

Behnam
Newbie
Newbie
Posts:3
Joined:Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:14 pm

Re: Novation Supernova 2 issue

Post by Behnam » Tue Oct 29, 2019 11:09 pm

Ashe37 wrote:
Tue Oct 29, 2019 10:57 pm
Behnam wrote:
Tue Oct 29, 2019 9:50 pm
Ashe37 wrote:
Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:53 pm
you need to make the video not private.
Thanks for the heads up, hopefully you can see this video now?
yes, it works now. IS there a hard reset procedure for the supernova 2? has its internal battery died?
Googled that, tried it and nothing :(

blueknob
Active Member
Active Member
Posts:317
Joined:Sun Jul 06, 2008 12:30 pm
Gear:ESi32/E6400U, Novation Supernova, Ensoniq, vintage Macs and the like.
Location:England, UK

Re: Novation Supernova 2 issue

Post by blueknob » Wed Oct 30, 2019 9:17 am

Isn't step one to check the power supply? Reach for the DVM check 5V12V -12V whatever there might be? I suppse whilst DVM in hand check battery backup voltage too, many are 3V.

User avatar
Yekuku
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts:762
Joined:Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:29 am
Gear:dk'tronics speech synthesizer :P
Location:Greece

Re: Novation Supernova 2 issue

Post by Yekuku » Wed Oct 30, 2019 2:29 pm

Hi and welcome to the board.
It looks like the unit freezes during boot.
I have seen this before and the culprit was either the ribbon cable or a bad Ram IC.
You can try this , but I doubt that it will work:
How can the Supernova/SuperNova II be completely reset?

To restore the operating system of a Supernova or Supernova II, hold down part edit button 6 while you turn the synthesiser on. The display will show "reload O/S from ROM to flash?". Push the page up button to accept this prompt. The reload should take around 5 seconds.

Once the reload is complete you can restore the factory settings for the Supernova or Supernova II. To do this find the local control & memory protect page in the global menu. Ensure that local control is turned on and memory protect is turned off. Press the page up button to advance to the restore from ROM page of the global menu. Use the fast data controls to select "total data" as the option to be restored.

Push the write button twice to initiate the reload. This reload takes around 15 seconds. Once the reload has taken place, the memory (not the buffers) will have been initialised. Turn the Supernova off and back on again or advance to a new Program / Performance to clear the buffers. The items that are restored are: Program banks A-D, Performance banks A-B, Drum Banks a-d (Supernova II only), all arp patterns and the global menu data. Program banks E-H, Performance banks C-D, Drum Banks e-h cannot be restored as these are not stored in ROM.
So next try this:

1) Check the PSU
2) reattach or replace ribbon cable.
3) Replace Ram IC ( tricky smd component to replace , not for the fainthearted)

p.s. concerning the Ram IC, there are 3 of them installed, if you cant figure out which one has the problem, then you should replace all of them.
It is all about sharing...

User avatar
shadowmask
Newbie
Newbie
Posts:14
Joined:Sun May 17, 2015 12:58 pm
Gear:Yamaha: SY85, TG-500, TG-300, MOXF6, FG410
Novation: Supernova II Keyboard & Rack Pro-X
Location:United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Novation Supernova 2 issue

Post by shadowmask » Fri Dec 13, 2019 4:49 pm

Hi,

I put a reply for this over at Gearslutz, I'll paste it in here for reference:

This means one of the DSP ICs has not responded during the boot sequence.

Sometimes the SNII may randomly halt during the boot, but if it always shows the same sequence of lamps (Parts 1 thru 7) then it is very likely a DSP fault.


Brian

Post Reply