Bring Roland SH2000 back to life? [SOLVED]

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
zorgitron
Gear: Roland C80
Korg Lambda ES 50
Yamaha CS10
Roland SH 2000

Bring Roland SH2000 back to life? [SOLVED]

Post by zorgitron » Wed May 06, 2020 12:30 pm

Hi everyone,
I used to be very active on this site when I was a high school student, and now I've let myself get obsessed with synths again!

So I have an SH2000 that went silent. I'm doing all I can to figure it out and fix it myself, but I'm just wondering if very experienced and knowledge gentlemen have some pointers to help me out.

When I got it, it worked, but was very crackly and unstable. Sometimes presets would work and sometimes they wouldn't. Then it went silent, but it was an easy fix, the output jack was just shattered. Easily fixed it.

As I played it more, it seemed to even out, and almost all the presets worked all the time. The only malfunctioning bit was the portamento. Maybe 1 out of 10 times it somewhat worked, but it really didn't behave as it should have. It just would drone out a note without moving or do something so strange I can't really describe.

Then when I turned it on one day, nothing that used the VCO worked. I could hear the filter and noise only by the "wind" preset.

Soon after that, while trying to fix it, the "Wind" preset also went silent.

Now, the only sound I can get is the sound of the keys' voltage tappy taps. I guess that means the keys are still sending their messages...

I've got the 40 page manual, and I've got an oscilloscope, so I've been probing around. Every one of the probing points that should be a waveform are just straight voltages, such as Pin 3 of the 555 IC.