Novation K-station encoder part number/type request

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
belzrebuth
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 12:43 pm

Novation K-station encoder part number/type request

Post by belzrebuth » Sat Jul 17, 2021 3:13 pm

Hi!
Does anyone know what type of encoders the Novation K-station uses?
I could purchase some samples and test which one does the trick but I'd really avoid all that if I had a part number for these.
Thanks!

User avatar
Yekuku
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 770
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:29 am
Gear: dk'tronics speech synthesizer :P
Location: Greece

Re: Novation K-station encoder part number/type request

Post by Yekuku » Sun Jul 18, 2021 8:02 pm

Sorry I dont have the specific part number, but did you contact Novation support ?
The best ever technical support I have ever experienced in my life was from novation and dave smith.
I highly recommend contacting them !
Anyways , whats the problem with the encoder? If it is jumping values, a few drops of deoxit can solve the issue.
It is all about sharing...

belzrebuth
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 12:43 pm

Re: Novation K-station encoder part number/type request

Post by belzrebuth » Sun Jul 18, 2021 8:28 pm

I opened it up and turns out that it doesn't have any encoders apart from the "program" selector encoder.
All the other pots are just regular one-turn 10kB D-shaft potentiometers!

Unfortunately deoxit isn't suitable for any pot (encoders should be fine) in my opinion since it kind of degrades the carbon tracks.
I've used it on many pot until I came to that conclusion.

The best thing for a bad pot would be to replace if of course but I've had very good results by open them up and clean inside with a cotton bud and some IPA, since it's only four to five pots that do weird things I will be doing that.If it was more than that it would make more sense to just replace them because cleaning them takes a bit of time.
They are not mechanically damaged in any way, just dirty so this might do the trick.
Thanks for your tips on Novation support!

User avatar
Yekuku
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 770
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:29 am
Gear: dk'tronics speech synthesizer :P
Location: Greece

Re: Novation K-station encoder part number/type request

Post by Yekuku » Mon Jul 19, 2021 7:15 am

I agree with you , taking the potentiometer apart and cleaning it , is the best way.
Good luck with the repair !
It is all about sharing...

Post Reply