Bring Roland SH2000 back to life? [SOLVED]

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
LUKAS
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2022 3:21 am

Re: Bring Roland SH2000 back to life? [SOLVED]

Post by LUKAS » Thu Jan 20, 2022 3:48 am

from what you see partially would a fuse go between the input pins? or is it two? that would explain the four inpustus of the AC, is that mine does not have it

User avatar
Yekuku
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 797
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:29 am
Gear: dk'tronics speech synthesizer :P
Location: Greece

Re: Bring Roland SH2000 back to life? [SOLVED]

Post by Yekuku » Thu Jan 20, 2022 9:28 am

Hi and welcome,
I am not sure about what you are asking but I ll try to help.
The transformer in the sh 2000 has a dual secondary ( 2x18V) , it is not center tapped (18V-0-18V) as you have mentioned.
One 18VAC goes to the positive voltage regulating circuit providing 15V DC, and the other 18VAC goes to the negative providing -15V. You dont have to connect any of the wires together, just connect these wires to the correct terminal of the PSU pcb.
The fuses are located after the transformer and before the voltage regulation, thus protecting both 15V and -15V power lines.
I hope this helps.
It is all about sharing...

LUKAS
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2022 3:21 am

Re: Bring Roland SH2000 back to life? [SOLVED]

Post by LUKAS » Sun Jan 23, 2022 9:59 pm

Does anyone have the wiring diagram for the repeat button? there are four cables, it came loose when trying to repair the source

LUKAS
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2022 3:21 am

Re: Bring Roland SH2000 back to life? [SOLVED]

Post by LUKAS » Mon Jan 24, 2022 3:16 am

Hi friends !! thanks for everything everyone, I didn't see that if my original question about the transformer and its wiring was published, I didn't update that I could get it because the person who sold me the synth still had it out there, and I found, I already put it in its place ! The only thing that seems to be wrong is the source specifically the power transistors, tomorrow I will get some, the only problem was that when checking the source the repeat button was disconnected, which is 4 cables, green, blue, brown and orange and I don't know how they went originally ! if someone help me! it would be awesome!! Thank you ! and they are a great forum! greetings from Mexico!!

LUKAS
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2022 3:21 am

Re: Bring Roland SH2000 back to life? [SOLVED]

Post by LUKAS » Tue Jan 25, 2022 5:01 am

I have problems friends, I don't know if I connected my PSU correctly, because I saw that there are two connection schemes, according to the service manual, I followed the most suitable connection in theory for my source, which is the following 21(red) 22 (0range) , 23 (grey) 24 black, my psu is the one with b424 transistor and 1815 regulator, I don't know why but it didn't give me voltage, and I changed all the components to the psu, could it be another wiring configuration?

LUKAS
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2022 3:21 am

Re: Bring Roland SH2000 back to life? [SOLVED]

Post by LUKAS » Tue Jan 25, 2022 5:30 am

I've already achieved +15/-15 on check points, but I still have the mute synth, I must have other problems

LUKAS
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2022 3:21 am

Re: Bring Roland SH2000 back to life? [SOLVED]

Post by LUKAS » Tue Jan 25, 2022 5:38 am

It may smoke
' a bit? the source is fine, I don't understand why it could smoke,

LUKAS
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2022 3:21 am

Re: Bring Roland SH2000 back to life? [SOLVED]

Post by LUKAS » Tue Jan 25, 2022 11:44 pm

I was able to partially play the synth, but it looks like at least one tantalum capacitor had burned! that sure was what smoked! I'm going to get it and replace it to see if it improves in sound that is thin and distorted still

User avatar
Yekuku
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 797
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:29 am
Gear: dk'tronics speech synthesizer :P
Location: Greece

Re: Bring Roland SH2000 back to life? [SOLVED]

Post by Yekuku » Thu Jan 27, 2022 10:20 am

Tantalums fail due to overvoltage, you better confirm that you are getting +15V/-15V from the PSU , before doing any further testing.
It is all about sharing...

LUKAS
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2022 3:21 am

Re: Bring Roland SH2000 back to life? [SOLVED]

Post by LUKAS » Sun Feb 06, 2022 7:49 am

I already made it sound to the sh 2000 only that I have disconnected the repeat button which is four cables, green, brown, blue and orange go to the green button on the left but I don't want to miss its connection

LUKAS
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2022 3:21 am

Re: Bring Roland SH2000 back to life? [SOLVED]

Post by LUKAS » Tue Feb 15, 2022 12:59 am

the problem that the repeat button is disconnected, makes the keyboard not have a key off, it always sounds, any help? I have tried several configurations and I don't hit it

User avatar
upunkt
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 1:51 pm
Location: Berlin, GER

Re: Bring Roland SH2000 back to life? [SOLVED]

Post by upunkt » Fri Feb 25, 2022 8:38 am

Hi Lukas,
attached the green button wiring. Seen fom left side and counting the button pins from top to bottom the wiring order is green - (black to somewhere else) - brown - (blank) - orange - blue.
IMG_6327b.jpg
SH-2000 Repeat Button wiring BUTTON
These four wires go to the 6th connector on the control pcb, if you count from the top left corner, see following image. Color order here from left to right is brown - orange - green - blue.
IMG_7794b.jpg
SH-2000 wiring control PCB

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5620
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Wurlitzer Opus 1536, Model F, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Bring Roland SH2000 back to life? [SOLVED]

Post by madtheory » Fri Feb 25, 2022 5:36 pm

Wow that's very helpful to open up your own like that.

I still have an empty SH2000 case, and the bare control panel if anyone wants these.

LUKAS
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2022 3:21 am

Re: Bring Roland SH2000 back to life? [SOLVED]

Post by LUKAS » Sat Feb 26, 2022 6:43 am

Hello !! Upunkt that information is great!! in general you never see that part!! you are amazing!!!and Everyone in the forum is very kind!! I will try to see if that solves the key off problem, otherwise the synth already works in all its functions !! it came back to life!!! It sounds incredible!!! Thank you very much !!! if anyone knows what you can control in key off! let me know!!! I'm going to try with that switch!! thank you very much and hugs!!

LUKAS
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2022 3:21 am

Re: Bring Roland SH2000 back to life? [SOLVED]

Post by LUKAS » Sun Feb 27, 2022 6:12 am

I was able to wire the repeat button but still no key off, I can't find the key off fault, I replaced a c 828 transistor where it says "new key trigger" but nothing changed, does anyone know where I should look for the key off fault? regards

Post Reply